THE COLLEGE

Winter Meeting, 1994

The Winter Meeting was held at the Cafe Royal, London on 1, 2, 3 and 4 February 1994.

Business meeting

The business meeting was held on 3 February 1994 attended by 37 members of the College.

Minutes

The minutes of the Autumn Quarterly Meeting held at Kensington Town Hall, London on 27 October 1993 were approved and signed.

Election of Honorary Fellows

The following were nominated and seconded: Professor Hanns Hippius, Professor Felice Lieh Mak, Dr John Reed, Professor Andrew Sims and Professor Sir John Wood.

Registrar's report

The London Implementation Reference Group for mental health services in London will be meeting on a further two occasions. It is proposed that the College, the Health Advisory Service and the King's Fund will then form a joint initiative to take forward the work of the reference group in the new year. The remit of the new group would be to work with the London Implementation Group to advise purchasing authorities in London on the priorities in purchasing of mental health services and on the adequacy of the current arrangements. The College will be submitting a letter to the Secretary of State on mental health services in London, and the Research Unit have been invited to undertake a detailed survey in this area.

The Report of the Joint Working Group with the Faculty of Public Health Medicine on Purchasing Psychiatric Care (approved at the June Council), had now been endorsed by the Faculty of Public Health Medicine. Specialist Sections are producing detailed guidelines for purchasers relating to their respective services, which will be published in the form of a response to the joint report.

A working party has been established by the President to consider the role of the consultant psychiatrist in the multidisciplinary team. It is considered timely and appropriate to re-examine the role of consultants in the light of the changes within the health service. The first meeting of the group has recently taken place and it is hoped that a draft statement will be produced for consideration by Council in March. A final consensus statement on the use of high dose antipsychotic medication was produced by a consensus group under the chairmanship of the Registrar. Council endorsed the proposal that the statement should be accepted as College policy and published in the form of a Council Report.

A working group has been established to monitor the implementation of the recommendations of the Ethnic Issues Report (*Psychiatric Practice and Training in British Multi-Ethnic Society*) 1990, under the Chairmanship of the Dean. The group will consider measures to ensure the full participation in College affairs of members from the ethnic minorities, and to recommend further initiatives in the areas of training manpower and public education.

The final report from the Psychotherapy section *The Treatment of Perpetrators of Child Sexual Abuse* submitted to Council in January for approval, will shortly become an official College report following some minor modifications.

The final Report of the Ashworth Hospital Inquiry Group has been agreed by Council, and will shortly be published and circulated. Proposals for the implementation of the various recommendations have also recently been approved by Council.

The Specialist Sections have been invited to produce an updated policy statement of community care in their respective areas of work, and a composite statement will be discussed by a conference in March and subsequently submitted for approval. The College is convening a major conference on community care, in conjunction with several other organisations, at which the College's policy on community care will be launched. This will take place during Mental Health Week in Autumn 1994, and will lead to a publication in the Gaskell series, which would be a significant development for the College in terms of public relations.

The College is considering the introduction of a Diploma in Psychiatry, which will encourage the acquisition of knowledge and skills in clinical assistant and staff grade psychiatrists, and will enhance the psychiatric knowledge of general practitioners.

The College has submitted to the Health Committee Inquiry into Mental Health Services a lengthy, well-referenced report prepared with contributions from the Specialist Sections and other individuals, which will be published as an occasional paper.

The College welcomes the review of Guidance on Doctors' performance, and a response to the Review Group has recently been submitted.

The College continues to consider and consult about the development of continuing medical education.

The next Business Meeting will be held in the Council Room at the Royal College of Psychiatrists on Wednesday 23 March at 4.30 pm, after the Council Meeting. All members of the College are welcome to attend this meeting.

Professor CHRIS THOMPSON, Registrar, Royal College of Psychiatrists

Elections to the Fellowship, 1994

At the meeting of the Court of Electors held on 14 February 1994, the following applicants were approved.

The Fellowship

Dr F. E. A. Abdul Rahim, Dr M. F. S. Abdurahman, Dr P. Y. Abusah, Dr J. A. Baird, Dr R. C. Baldwin, Dr C. M. Bass, Dr C. V. R. Blacker, Dr D. R. Blackwood, Dr M. J. Bowman, Professor E. A. Bradley, Dr K. W. Bridges, Dr B. D. P. Browne, Dr J. Catalan, Dr R. N. Chitty, Dr D. A. G. Cook, Dr W. E. Dickson, Dr V. M. Evans, Dr R. Farmer, Dr U. Freeston, Dr K. W. M. Fulford, Dr P. Gaminiratne, Dr D. V. J. Harischandra, Dr M. L. Hartman, Dr N. M. Healy, Dr M. A. Hession, Dr C. C. Hunter, Professor J. A. Insua, Dr P. Jauhar, Dr D. V. Jones, Dr R. W. Jones, Dr S. H. Kamlana, Dr K. Kassim, Professor C. L. E. Katona, Dr N. Kaur, Dr D. I. Khoosal, Dr M. G. Livingston, Dr A. J. MacDonald, Dr E. S. Meltzer, Dr N. D. Minton, Dr P. B. Mitchell,

Dr D. H. Montgomery, Dr B. Moore, Dr A. D. Nikapota, Dr D. J. Nutt, Dr S. Olivieri, Dr K. Padamsee, Dr D. J. Pallis, Dr M R. Pokorny, Professor M. Sanati, Dr M. S. Shooter, Dr A. M. Silverman, Dr R. J. Simpson, Dr D. E. Somekh, Dr J. S. Strang, Dr A. G. Sutton, Dr M. P. Tam, Dr G. H. A. Tate, Dr C. C. Tennant, Dr P. L. Thakur, Dr M. J. J. Thompson, Dr S. W. Turner, Dr M. Tweddle, Dr E. A. Vizard, Dr D. R. D. Wallace, Dr A. G. C. Wijeyeratne, Dr D. G. Wilkinson, Dr A. H. Yonace, Dr. H. A. M. Youssef and Dr A. S. Zigmond.

Membership under Bye-Law III 2 (ii)

Dr S. Chawla, Professor M. S. Farooqi, Dr J. A. Fernandez, Dr M. E. Heti-Davies, Professor O. Morakinyo, Dr R. E. Steel and Professor K. Yamazaki.

New Associate

Dr J. M. Atkinson.

The College