Research and Training Support

Announcement of Awards

Humanities Endowment Senior Fellowships

Four political scientists recently have received Senior Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities. They are:

Gabriel Almond, Stanford University

Vernon B. Van Dyke, University of Iowa

Loren P. Beth, University of Massachusetts

Walter Gellhorn, Columbia University

South Carolina Department of Political Science Fellowship in Public Law

The University of South Carolina's Department of Political Science has received a \$27,000 grant from the Charles L. Jacobson Foundation to establish fellowships in public law.

The fellowships will be for doctor of philosophy candidates in the public law field, which includes the study of jurisprudence, comparative law, constitutional law and the judicial system.

Dr. James E. Larson, head of the USC political science department, said the principal or income from the grant will provide three or four fellowships each year. The department will recruit outstanding graduate students from leading colleges and universities as recipients of the fellowships.

Recipients will be selected by a committee from the political science department consisting of Larson, Prof. M. Glenn Abernathy and Prof. William P. Kreml.

The Charles L. Jacobson Foundation, established in the 1950's by Jacobson, a former executive with Chrysler Corp. in Detroit, provides aid to a variety of philanthropic causes.

Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship Awards

The John Simon Guggenheim Foundation has awarded fellowships for 1972 to nine political scientists. The fellowships are designed to assist in improving the quality of education and the practice of the arts and professions, to foster research, and to provide for the cause of better international understanding. Further information on the Fellowship Program may be secured by writing the Foundation: John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, 90 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10016.

The nine political scientists receiving 1972 Guggenheim Fellowships and their topics are:

Karl W. Deutsch, professor of government, Harvard University: A general theory of politics.

George Kateb, professor of political science, Amherst College: A study of the radical critique of liberal democracy.

Everett C. Ladd, Jr., professor of political science, University of Connecticut: The political responses to social change in the American experience.

Joseph LaPalombara, Arnold Wolfers professor of political science, Yale University: The role of public bureaucracies in effecting political and social change.

Seymour M. Lipset, professor of government and social relations, Harvard University: Studies of the political role of intellectuals.

Hanna Pitkin, associate professor of political science, University of California, Berkeley: Studies of the nature of self and its significance for politics.

Melvin Richter, professor of political science, Hunter College, City University of New York: French political and social theory from Montesquieu to Aron.

Wayne Wilcox, professor of political science, Columbia University: A comparative study of the organization, extension, and management of public authority in South Asia.

Neal Wood, professor of political science, York University: A study of John Locke's social and political thought.