• revised and approved the Affirmative Action Report submitted by the Committee on Professional Ethics, Rights and Freedoms, chaired by Nancy Zingale of the College of Saint Thomas.

• approved a new graduate student fellowship for chicanos and other hispanics; and

• established a policy studies dissertation award to be named the Harold D. Lasswell Dissertation Award.

Editor's Note: See the PS Appendix in this issue for the complete minutes of the Council meeting, the report of the Publications Committee, and the Affirmative Action Report.

1984 Annual Meeting Section Chairs Welcome Proposals

Philip Converse, president-elect of APSA, has appointed Doris Graber of the University of Illinois at Chicago to chair the Program Committee for the 1984 Annual Meeting. In addition, scholars have been named to head the 20 sections planned for next year's program. These nominations were approved by the Council at its March 10-11 meeting.

The Program Committee is composed of Graber, the section heads, and Bruce Bueno de Mesquita of the University of Rochester, who is the 1984 Associate Program Chairperson in the area of international relations.

The 1984 Annual Meeting will be held in Washington, D.C. August 30-September 2, 1984.

On behalf of the Program Committee, Graber is soliciting from Association members paper suggestions and offers to appear as discussants for next year's meeting. In general, proposals for individual papers are preferred to proposals for whole panels.

Due to the lead time required for preparation of copy for the spring Preliminary Program, the deadline for receiving suggestions is December 1, 1983.

Association members are asked to write

directly to the appropriate section chairperson listed below. More general inquiries or suggestions may be addressed to:

• Doris Graber, Department of Political Science, University of Illinois at Chicago, Box 4348, Chicago, IL 60680; (312) 996-3108/3105.

• Bruce Bueno de Mesquita, Department of Political Science, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY 14627; (716) 275-5328; currently at Hoover Institution, 390 Mayfield Avenue, Stanford, CA 94305; (415) 497-0583.

• Eloise French, Convention Coordinator, APSA, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036; (202) 483-2512.

Further details on the plans for each section will be provided in the summer issue of *PS*. The section heads, subject to the approval of APSA Council, are:

1984 Annual Meeting Program Committee

Section 1. Positive Political Theory: Bernard Grofman, School of Social Sciences, University of California, Irvine, CA 92717; (714) 833-5143.

Section 2. Empirical Theory and Research Methods: Gerald Kramer, Division of Humanities and Social Sciences, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA 91106; (213) 356-4211.

Section 3. Political Thought and Philosophy: Historical Approaches: Jean Elshtain, Department of Political Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01103; (413) 545-0410.

Section 4. Political Thought and Philosophy: Contemporary Analytical and Critical Approaches: Amy Gutmann, Department of Politics, Corwin Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544; (609) 452-4767.

Section 5. Comparative Politics: Public Policies and Policy Making: Valerie Bunce, Department of Political Science, Scott Hall, Northwestern University, 1890 Sheridan Road, Evanston, IL 60201; (312) 492-7026; spring quarter address: University of Washington, Department of Political Science, 111

Association News

Gowen Hall, DO-30, Seattle, WA 98195; (206) 543-1898.

Section 6. Comparative Politics: Publics, Leaders, and Institutions. Samuel Barnes, Department of Political Science, Haven Hall, University of Michigan, 5601 Ann Arbor, MI 48104; (313) 763-3226; currently at the Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences, 202 Junipero Serra Boulevard, Stanford, CA 94305; (415) 321-2052.

Section 7. Comparative Politics: Processes of Development and Change in Contemporary Societies: Peter Katzenstein, Department of Government, McGraw Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853; (607) 256-6257.

Section 8. Political Parties, Elections, and Electoral Behavior: Herbert Asher, Department of Political Science, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH 43210; (614) 422-2424/2880.

Section 9. The Structure of Public Thinking: Political Psychology, Public Opinion, and Political Socialization: Paul Allen Beck, Department of Political Science, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL 32306; (904) 644-5727/3848.

Section 10. Interest Group Politics and Political Participation: Advantaged and Disadvantaged Groups: Chris Garcia, Dean of Arts and Sciences, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM 87131; (505) 277-3046.

Section 11. Public Law and Judicial Politics: E. Wally Miles, Department of Political Science, San Diego State University, 5402 College Avenue, San Diego, CA 92182; (714) 265-6263.

Section 12. Executives and Legislatures: Linda Fowler, Department of Political Science, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY 13210; (315) 423-3336.

Section 13. Public Policy Analysis: Matthew Holden, Jr., Department of Government and Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22901; (804) 924-3358.

Section 14. Public Administration and Organizational Analysis: John Wanat, Department of Political Science, University of Illinois at Chicago, Box 4348, Chicago, IL 60680; (312) 996-3105.

240 *PS* Spring 1983

Section 15. Federalism and Sub-national Politics: States and Cities in Transition: Susan MacManus, Department of Political Science, University of Houston, Cullen Building, Houston, TX 77004; (713) 749-4885.

Section 16. The Practice of Political Science: Anne Matasar, Director, Center for Business and Economics, Elmhurst College, 190 Prospect, Elmhurst, IL 60126; (312) 279-4100.

Section 17. International Relations: National Security and Conflict Analysis: Harvey Starr, Department of Political Science, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405; (812) 335-9002.

Section 18. International Relations: Hierarchical Aspects of International Politics: Richard Ashley, Department of Political Science, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ 85287; (602) 965-1316.

Section 19. International Relations: The Organization of the International System: Peter Gourevitch, Department of Political Science, University of California at San Diego, Q-060, La Jolla, CA 92093; (619) 452-3548.

Section 20. International Relations: Global Political Economy: Benjamin Most, Department of Political Science, Iowa University, Iowa City, IA 52242; (319) 353-3422.

APSA Section on Political Communication Is Explored

Professor David L. Paletz is interested in exploring the possibility of forming an APSA section on Political Communication. The section would organize meetings and coordinate communications under APSA auspices and would receive logistical support from the APSA national office. Those interested should contact Professor David Paletz at the Department of Political Science, 214 Perkins Library, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27706.