BULLETIN

OF

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Volume 50, Number 1 August 1994

The Australian Mathematical Publishing Assoc. Inc., Australian National University, ACT 0200, Australia. Printed in Australia by Watson Ferguson & Co.

Print Post approved - PP229219/00095

 $\frac{ISSN~0004-9727}{\text{https://doi.org/10.1017/S0004972700009485 Published online by Cambridge University Press}$

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

President: Derek W. Robinson School of Mathematical Sciences

The Australian National University,

Canberra 0200, Australia.

Secretary: D. Elliott Department of Mathematics,

University of Tasmania, Hobart Tas. 7000, Australia.

Treasurer: A. Howe School of Mathematical Sciences,

The Australian National University,

Canberra 0200, Australia

These officers serve until July 1995

Membership and correspondence.

Applications for membership, notices of change of address or title or position, members' subscriptions and correspondence related to accounts should be sent to the Treasurer. Correspondence about the distribution of the Society's BULLETIN, GAZETTE, and JOURNALS, and orders for back numbers should be sent to the Treasurer. All other correspondence should be sent to the Secretary.

The Bulletin.

The Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1969. Normally two volumes of three numbers are published annually. The BULLETIN is published for the Australian Mathematical Society by the Australian Mathematical Publishing Association Inc.

Editor: Alan S. Jones

Deputy Editor: Neil H. Williams

Department of Mathematics,
Villiams The University of Queensland,

Queensland 4072, Australia.

Honorary Editor: B.H. Neumann

ASSOCIATE EDITORS

Robert S. Anderssen	Brian A. Davey	B.D. Hughes	Brailey Sims
Alan L. Andrew	P.M. Diamond	D.C. Hunt	Ross Street
R. Bartnik	P.G. Dodds	B.D. Jones	R.P. Sullivan
Elizabeth J. Billington	P. Donovan	K.L. McAvaney	G. Szekeres
J. Clark	J.R. Giles	Sidney A. Morris	E.U. Tarafdar
B.D. Craven	J.A. Hempel	J.H. Rubinstein	H.B. Thompson

A.J. van der Poorten N.C. Weber

ASSISTANT EDITORS

K.G. Smith G.A. Chandler

©Copyright Statement Where necessary, permission to photocopy for internal or personal use or the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., for libraries and other users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), provided that the base fee of \$A2.00 per copy of article is paid directly to CCC, 21 Congress Street, Salem, MA 01970, U.S.A. Special requests should be addressed to the Treasurer, Australian Mathematical Publishing Association, Inc., c/- Department of Mathematics, The University of Queensland, Older 4072, Australian Serial section of Comparison (1997), 88 \$A2.00 + 0.00.