Electronics and Photonics

MRS Advances: Electronics and Photonics

Associate Editor: Elizabeth L. Fleischer, Materials Research Society

Principal Editor: Norbert Koch, Humboldt University

Principal Editor: Paddy Kwok Leung Chan, University of Hong Kong

Principal Editor: Michele Sessolo, *University of Valencia* Principal Editor: Robert Nemanich, *Arizona State University*

Principal Editor: Fred Walker, Yale University

Principal Editor: Viktoriia Babicheva, *Georgia State University* Principal Editor: Dragomir Neshev, *Australian National University* Principal Editor: Masashi Yamaguchi, *Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute*

Principal Editor: Nian Sun, Northeastern University

Principal Editor: Hyunsang Hwang, Pohang University of Science and Technology

MRS Advances Editorial Board:

Chair: David F. Bahr, *Purdue University* Asa H. Barber, *University of Portsmouth*

Frank W. DelRio, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Elizabeth L. Fleischer, Materials Research Society

Marilyn L. Minus, Northeastern University

Roger J. Narayan, University of North Carolina/North Carolina State University

MRS Editorial Office:

Ellen W. Kracht, *Publications Manager, Materials Research Society, Warrendale, PA*Susan Dittrich, *Journals Editorial Assistant, Materials Research Society, Warrendale, PA*Kirby L. Morris, *Journals Production Assistant, Materials Research Society, Warrendale, PA*Eileen M. Kiley, *Director of Communications, Materials Research Society, Warrendale, PA*

MRS Advances (EISSN: 2059-8521) is published by Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473 for the Materials Research Society.

Copyright © 2016, Materials Research Society. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, in any form or by any means, electronic, photocopying, or otherwise, without permission in writing from Cambridge University Press. Policies, request forms and contacts are available at: http://www.cambridge.org/rights/permissions/permission.htm. Permission to copy (for users in the USA) is available from Copyright Clearance Center at: http://www.copyright.com, email: info@copyright.com.

Purchasing Options:

Premium Subscription- Premium Subscription includes current subscription and one year's lease access to the full MRS Online Proceedings Library Archive for \$6,875.00 / £4,655.00 / €6,330.00. *Subscription*- Subscription with perpetual access to the content subscribed to in a given year, including three years of back-file lease access to content from the MRS Online Proceedings Library Archive. The price for a 2016 subscription is \$2,875.00 / £1,855.00 / €2,500.00. *MRS Members*- Access to *MRS Advances* is available to all MRS members without charge.

Contact Details:

For all inquiries about pricing and access to *MRS Advances*, please get in touch via the following email addresses: online@cambridge.org (for the Americas); library.sales@cambridge.org (for UK, Europe, and rest of world).

journals.cambridge.org/adv

CONTENTS

	Magnetic Recording
*	Operations, Charge Transport, and Random Telegraph Noise in HfO _x Resistive Random Access Memory: A Multi-scale Modeling Study 327 Francesco M. Puglisi, Luca Larcher, Andrea Padovani, and Paolo Pavan
	In-line Monitoring of Grain Size Distribution of Channel Poly Si used in 3D NAND Flash Memory Devices using Multiwavelength Raman Spectroscopy
	Stress Induced Vacancy Clustering Mechanism of Resistive Switching in Hafnium Oxides
	Surface Smoothing Effects of Materials Used in Underlayer of MTJ with Gas Cluster Ion Beams
	Effects of Defect on Ferroelectric Stability in PbTiO ₃ Thin Films 363 Lin Zhu, Jeong Ho You, and Jinghong Chen
	Reliability of the Properties of (Pb,La)(Zr,Ti)O ₃ Capacitors with Non–noble Metal Oxide Electrodes stored in an H ₂ Atmosphere 369 Yoko Takada, Naoki Okamoto, Takeyasu Saito, Kazuo Kondo, Takeshi Yoshimura, Norifumi Fujimura, Koji Higuchi, Akira Kitajima, and Rie Shishido
	Conductance Switching Behavior of GeTe/Sb ₂ Te ₃ Superlattice Upon Hot-electron Injection: A Scanning Probe Microscopy Study 375 Leonid Bolotov, Yuta Saito, Tetsuya Tada, and Junji Tominaga
	*Invited Paper