DIVISION XII BUSINESS MEETINGS

PRESIDENT	Malcolm G. Smith
VICE-PRESIDENT	Francoise Genova
PAST PRESIDENT	Johannes Anderson
OC MEMBERS	Steven R. Federman, Alan C. Gilmore
	Il-Seong Nha, Raymond P. Norris
	Ian E. Robson, Magda G. Stavinschi
	Virginia L. Trimble, Richard J. Wainscoat

PROCEEDINGS OF BUSINESS SESSIONS, 3rd and 4th August, 2009

1. Formal Meetings

Brief meetings were held to confirm the elections of the incoming Division President, Francoise Genova and Vice President, Ray Norris along with the Organizing Committee which will consist of the incoming Presidents of the 7 Commissions (5,6,14,41,46,50 and 55) plus additional nominated members. The incoming Organizing Committee will thus consist of:

Francoise Genova (France), Ray Norris (Australia), Dennis Crabtree (Canada), Olga B. Dluzhnevskaya (Russian Federation), Masatoshi Ohishi (Japan), Rosa M. Ros, (Spain), Clive L.N. Ruggles (UK), Nikolay Samus (Russian Federation), Virginia Trimble (USA), Wim van Driel (France), Glenn Wahlgren (USA), Xiao Chun Sun (People's Republic of China) and Malcolm Smith (Chile, non-voting, ex officio).

2. Informal Meetings

During the two weeks of the General Assembly, many valuable, informal meetings and conversations were held - in the corridors and over restaurant tables at the convention centre - among Division members from a variety of Commissions in order to discuss a range of current topics. These ranged from different ways these members and their Commissions would be co-ordinating their work in following the IAU Strategic Plan, to detailed, last-minute improvements to Resolution B5 to be presented on 13th August at Session 2 of the full General Assembly. Support was obtained (via a lunch-time meeting) from the Astronomers Without Borders group, for co-ordinated, follow-up imaging of astronomically-related, World-Heritage Sites, in support of Commission 41's work with UNESCO. This photography is to be carried out in the context of the IYA, by the TWAN (The World at Night) group. Much more detailed information on these and other matters appears in the various Commission, Working Group and Program Group reports elsewhere in these Transactions. ...

> Malcolm G. Smith Outgoing President of the Division