Travel Grant Programs Assist International Scholars

In an effort to broaden international participation in the Annual Meeting, the Association provided travel grants to 35 international scholars in 1997. Eighteen senior scholars and 17 graduates received funds distributed through two APSA programs. A list of international grantees and their home countries follows:

Advanced Foreign Graduate Student Travel Grant Program

Chieko Numata, University of Texas at Austin, Japan

Menghua Zeng, University of Florida, People's Republic of China

Mia M. Bloom, Columbia University, Canada

Eleonora Pasotti, Columbia University, Italy

Roger M. Scully, Ohio State University, Britain

Szue-Chin Philip Hsu, University of Denver, Taiwan

Swarna Rajagopalan, University of Illinois, India

Gul Sosay, Ohio State University, Turkey

Jongho Lee, University of Texas at Austin, Korea

Jae-Hyun Lyu, Purdue University, Korea

Xinsheng Liu, Texas A & M University, People's Republic of China Birol Akgun, Case Western Reserve University, Turkey

Tong-yi Huang, University of Texas at Austin, Taiwan

Ching-ping Tang, University of Southern California, Taiwan

Jennifer Shulman, University of Michigan, Canada

Michigan, Canada

Dietlind Stolle, Princeton University, Germany

John von Heyking, University of Notre Dame, Canada

Senior Scholar Travel Grant Program

Bernard Steunenberg, University of Twente, Netherlands Mikhail A. Beznosov, Kharkov State University, Ukraine Elena V. Kotchkina, Moscow Center for Gender Studies, Russia

Simon Critchley, Goethe Universitaet, Germany Jens Borchert, University of Goettingen, Germany Desmond King, St. Johns College, Oxford University, United Kingdom Kathrin Becher, Universitat Mannheim, Germany John J. Vail, University of Newcastle, United Kingdom Enver Kisriev, Dagestan State University, Russia Stewart Wood, Magdalena College, Oxford University, United Kingdom Nathan Widder, London School of Economics, United Kingdom Luigi Graziano, University of Turin, Italv Tatania Zakharov, Far Eastern Institute of Public Service, Russia Yoshiko Kojo, University of Tokyo Tomokazu Sakano, Kobe University Attila Agh, Budapest University of **Economic Sciences** Andras Lanczi, Budapest University of Economic Sciences Lazlo Vass, Budapest University of **Economic Sciences**

Association Awards Graduate Student Grants

In a continuing effort to assist increased graduate student participation in the annual meeting, the Association awarded 25 grants through its Advanced Graduate Student Travel Grant Program. Funded by APSA, winners were selected from a pool of over 100 applicants. All applicants were to present papers or posters at the annual meeting.

Since the program's initiation in 1994, 89 doctoral students from the U.S. have been funded by the program. Growth in the number of applications submitted for consideration has risen over 40%. At the 1997 meeting in Washington, graduate students delivered papers on approximately 650 panels and roundtables and could be found among the 300 scholars presenting posters.

The names and affiliation of the 1997 winners follow:

Fiona Adamson, Columbia University

Bear Braumoeller, University of Michigan

Allaine Cerwonka, University of

California, Irvine Kelly Chang, Stanford University Bryan Daves, Columbia University Todd Eisenstadt, University of California, San Diego Heather Foust, Emory University Robert Howard, SUNY-Stony Brook Sarah Hughes, Northwestern University Kenneth Kyle, Arizona State University Laura Langer, Florida State University John Lapinski, Columbia University Janet Liable, Yale University James Martin, University of Texas at Austin Jason Myers, University of California, Berkeley David Richards, SUNY-Binghamton Shad Satterthwaite, University of Oklahoma Gary Shaub Jr., University of Pittsburgh Stuart Shulman, University of Oregon Suzanne Soules, University of California, Santa Barbara **Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein**, Northern Arizona University Nina VanDyke, University of California, Santa Barbara Kevan M. Yenerall, Miami University (OH) Pamela Zeiser, Claremont Graduate University

Amy Zeitler, Purdue University

In addition, the Association was able to assist another 30 graduate students seeking academic jobs and first-year faculty through a grant program supported by the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education. Those selected for the \$100 grant were asked to attend "Attracting Students with Innovative Introductory Political Science Courses," a session of the Conference for Chairs held on Wednesday, August 27, 1997. Those receiving a stipend participated in a discussion about their preparation and plans for teaching introductory courses. The session and discussion were activities of the APSA's project on Introductory Course Syllabi. The project and the stipends are supported by a grant from the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education.