Association News

Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

The Association has received grants from the Asia Foundation and the Institute of International Education to provide limited assistance to visiting foreign national political scientists and advanced graduate students currently in the United States wishing to attend the 1977 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. For details on the two grant programs and application forms, write to the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced winners in the competition for the 1977-78 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1977-78 to attend the university of their choice and 14 non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The fellows were chosen by the Fellowship Selection Committee composed of Robert Martin, Howard University, Chairman; Tyrone Baines, North Carolina Central University; Ed Jackson, Howard University; and Carmen Dupress, Howard University.

Funded Fellows

Debra A. Buie University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Loretta M. Dumas Fisk University

Hazel M. Mack Winston-Salem State University

Belva E. McFarlin South Carolina State College

Deborah D. Morton Norfolk State College

Marilyn West Howard University

Non-Funded Fellows

Mark S. Burke Rutgers University

216 *PS* Spring 1977

Kriner Cash Princeton University

Charles K. Fields Florida A&M University

Donna E. McFarlane Queens College, CUNY

Sterling S. Miller University of Missouri

Marilyn Mitchell South Carolina State College

Barry J. Morris Tulane University

Zelma A. Mosley Morgan State University

Ervin E. Murfree, Jr. SUNY at Binghamton

Dani R. Newsum University of Colorado

Scipio Smalls Claflin College

Joseph Smiley Florida A&M University

David S. Stott, Jr. Alabama State University

William S. Thompson Federal City College

Elizabeth D. White Oberlin College

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced eight winners in the national competition for the 1977-78 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—six political scientists and two journalists—will come to the Nation's Capital for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$7,500 for the year. The program is financed by foundation grants to the Association and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1977-78 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, Johnson Health Policy