Acknowledgements

Many people and many organizations helped in organizing the Colloquium and making the proceedings ready for publication. We are sincerely thankful to Dr. Jacqueline Bergeron, IAU General Secretary, and Dr. Immo Appenzeller, IAU Assistant General Secretary, for their help and assistance throughout the planning process of the meeting. We would like to take the opportunity to express our gratitude to Dr. Richard C. Willson (JPL, Solar Irradiance Monitoring Group) and Dr. Ernest Hildner (NOAA Space Environment Laboratory) for their continuous support.

We would also like to express our appreciation and thanks to the members of the Scientific Organizing Committee for their support. The Scientific Organizing Committee consisted of Sallie Baliunas, Richard F. Donnelly, Peter Foukal, Claus Fröhlich (Co-Chair), V. Gaizauskas, Ernest Gurtovenko, Tadashi Hirayama, Hugh S. Hudson (Co-Chair), Julius London, Judit M. Pap (Chair), Paul Simon, Henk Spruit, Béla Szeidl, Jean-Claude Vial, and Oran R. White. Here we are very sorry to report that Dr. Ernest Gurtovenko died on January 20, 1994. Dr. Gurtovenko headed the Solar Physics Department of the Main Astronomical Observatory of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences for years and served on many national and international committees. His work gave a significant contribution to the models of solar radiation and he built the space telescope DIFOS to be launched on *Coronas* in 1994 for studying the global oscillations of the solar brightness. His work as a member of the Scientific Organizing Committee provided a significant help to scientists from the former Soviet Union to attend the Colloquium.

We also wish to express our gratitude to the members of the Local Organizing Committee: Pat Bornmann, Peter Fox, Howard Garcia (Chair), Patrick McIntosh, Larry Puga, Gary Rottman, Andy Skumanich, Kent Tobiska (Co-Chair), and Tom Woods for their help and assistance. We are especially thankful to Kent Tobiska, Pat McLane, Helga Mycroft, Liana The, Mary Eberle, Pam Bergstedt, Judy McGarvey, Gwen Dickenson, and Gregory Dickenson for all their time and hard work in handling the numerous details necessary for the planning and smooth running of the meeting. The staff of the Clarion Harvest House provided a pleasant environment for the meeting. We also express our gratitude to Liana The, Ferenc Váradi and Virginia White, for their help and time during the process of putting together the conference proceedings.

Financial support provided by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, NOAA Space Environment Laboratory, and Ball Aerospace made it possible to carry out this meeting. Travel supports provided by the International Astronomical Union, National Science Foundation, International Science Foundation, and the Department of Energy helped more than 30 scientists from different countries to attend the Colloquium. We are very grateful for the financial assistance of the above organizations.