The APSA Graduate Fellowship Program

In 1969, the American Political Science Association authorized the establishment of the Minority Graduate Fellowship Program. It was created in response to a recommendation by the APSA Committee on the Status of Blacks in the Profession. The Committee recognized a need to overcome obstacles that hampered the recruitment of minorities for higher education, such as financial difficulties and the limited information among graduate departments about prospective minority students. Thus, the purpose of the APSA Graduate Fellowship Program is to:

• Identify and aid prospective minority students who are pursuing a Ph.D. in political science

• Encourage other institutions to provide financial assistance to these students

• Contribute to the development of political science by recruiting students who will bring greater diversity to the field.

The first African American fellows were selected for the 1970-71 academic year, and in 1984 the Council established the same program for Latinos. The first fellow to receive his doctorate was Donald Tryman, who graduated from Florida State University in 1975. Currently, over fifty African Americans and thirty Latinos are enrolled in graduate programs of political science, and the number of doctorates among minorities steadily increases.

Following are the fellows who have received their doctorate or who have completed all requirements except their dissertation.

African Americans

Yvette Alex, Ph.D., Ohio State James Ammons, Ph.D., Florida State Richard Braggs, Ph.D., Howard Jerrie Brown, A.B.D., South Carolina

Joseph Brown, Ph.D., Purdue Michael Combs, Ph.D., Washing-

ton University Rodney Cunningham, A.B.D.,

Syracuse

James Duncan, A.B.D., Howard

J.D., SUNY-Buffalo James Eaglin, A.B.D., J.D., SUNY-Buffalo Earnest Lee Easton, Ph.D., Cornell Kathy S. Golden, Ph.D., Kentucky Earl Green, Jr., Ph.D., New York Michael Hanchard, Ph.D., Princeton Sheila Harmon-Martin, A.B.D., Clark-Atlanta Luke Harris, A.B.D., Princeton Ronando Holland, Ph.D., Duke Bryan O. Jackson, Ph.D., Michigan Joy Ann James, Ph.D., Fordham Ollie A. Johnson, A.B.D., U.C. Berkeley Murel Jones, Ph.D., Howard Augustus Jones, Ph.D., Washington University Francis Kilonzo, Ph.D., Claremont Walter Mebane, Ph.D., Yale Barry Morris, A.B.D., Emory Zelma Mosley, Ph.D., Wisconsin, Milwaukee Larry Moss, Ph.D., Atlanta Anthony Neal, Ph.D., Atlanta Roger Oden, Ph.D., Chicago Marion Orr, Ph.D., Maryland Desiree Pedescleaux, Ph.D., Yale Gail Peek, Ph.D., Princeton Georgia Persons, Ph.D., MIT Freeman Pollard, Ph.D., Indiana Adolph Reed, Ph.D., Atlanta Pearl T. Robinson, Ph.D., Columbia Jocelyn Sargent, A.B.D., Michigan Keith Simmons, Ph.D., Illinois Reginald Simmons, Ph.D., Howard Nellie Sinbad, Ph.D., Yale R. Drew Smith, Ph.D., Yale Thomas Stewart, A.B.D., Harvard Carol Swain, Ph.D., North Carolina Duane Taylor, Ph.D., Brandeis Edward Thompson, Ph.D., Howard Donald Tryman, Ph.D., Florida State Shirley Washington, Ph.D., Howard Jacqueline Washington, Ph.D., Howard

Carolyn Currie Eaglin, A.B.D.,

Hilbourne A. Watson, Ph.D., Howard

Freida Wheaton, A.B.D., J.D., Washington University Larry White, Ph.D., Yale Ernest Wilson, Ph.D., UC-Berkeley

Latinos

Gilbert Arroya, A.B.D., Purdue Anthony Desales Affigne, Ph.D., Brown University Jo Ellyn Fountain, A.B.D., North Carolina Carlos Juarez, A.B.D., UCLA Cecilia Rodriguez, Ph.D., University of Dallas Diana Saco, A.B.D., Minnesota

Section News

The organized section on Transformational Politics is holding a regional meeting at Yale University on Saturday, April 2, 1994, from 10:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The theme of the meeting is "Crossing the Border: Theory into Practice." Papers will be presented by Barbara Knoll (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Doug Bond (Harvard University), and Art Stein (University of Rhode Island). The paper presenters and conference participants will discuss the thesis that there is a false distinction between theory and practice.

The Transformational Politics section welcomes nonmembers as well as members. To obtain further information about the meeting, to register, and to receive advance copies of the papers to be delivered, contact Alexander Ulavov, 70 Howe Street, Apt. 211, New Haven, CT 06511; Phone: (203) 624-2242; Fax: Department of Classics, Yale University (203) 432-1079.

President Elaine Sharp of the Urban Politics Section has appointed 1994 Nominating Committee, which is charged with submitting a slate at the annual business meeting during the APSA convention. The Committee must submit six nominees for two-year terms on the Executive Council and one nominee for president-elect, who will serve one year before assuming the presidency at the end of the 1995 annual business meeting.