January 1997

No. 20

# **Ecclesiastical** Law Journal

## Volume 4

## CONTENTS

David Scott 1924–96—Obituary	4
William Lyndwood and the Provinciale	5
Notoriety: A Mediaeval Change of Attitude	9
Does Scotland Have an Established Church? 639 C. R. Munro	9
Some Loose Legal Cannons	6
St. Deiniol's Residential Library	5
Gospel and Order	9
Outrageous Behaviour—a Postscript	4
Book Reviews: Learning, Law and Religion by W. P. Griffith	7
A Handbook for Churchwardens etc by Macmorran and Briden	8
Thomas Cranmer by Diarmaid MacCulloch	0
Canon Law: Letter and Spirit by Geoffrey Chapman	1
The Protection of our English Churches by Donald Findlay	2
A Broad and Living Way by John Moses The Monarchy and the Constitution by Vernon Bogdanor	3
Synod News-Recent Legislation:	
The Governing Body of the Church in Wales	7
The General Synod of the Episcopal Church in Scotland	9
The General Synod of the Church of England	L
Recent Ecclesiastical Cases	8
Letters to the Editor	1
Cardiff Law School: LL.M. Degrees and Dissertations	2

# The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board. General enquiries and articles submitted for publication should be addressed to: The Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Parkside, Dulwich Common, London SE21 7EU (Tel. 0181 693 3564).

Books for review may be sent to: J. D. C. Harte Esq, Book Review Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, Newcastle Law School, Newcastle University, 21-24 Windsor Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RU (Tel. 0191 222 7614; Fax 0191 212 0064).

Matters relating to cases should be addressed to: Mark Hill Esq, Case Notes Editor, Ecclesiastical Law Journal, 3 Pump Court, Temple, London EC4Y 7AJ (Tel. 0171 353 0771).

## ISSN 0956-618X

## Items in this issue should be cited 4 Ecc. LJ

Inquiries with regard to membership of the Ecclesiastical Law Society or subscriptions to the Journal, including back issues, should be addressed to: Ecclesiastical Law Society, c/o 1 The Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3JT (Tel. 0171 222 5381). Inquiries from North America with regard to subscriptions to the Journal or back issues should be addressed to Gaunt Inc., Gaunt Building, 3011 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Florida 34127-2199, USA, who are sole distribution agents for the Journal to non-members in North America.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole.

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Mackintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society 1993-1997

## ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

### Patrons

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

### Vice-Patrons

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

#### President

The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Chichester (to 1997)

#### Elective Officers (to 1997)

CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson, O.B.E.<sup>†</sup> VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Bishop of Stafford<sup>†</sup> SECRETARY: Peter Beesley, Esq.<sup>†</sup> DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens, Esq.<sup>†</sup> TREASURER: The Revd John Rees<sup>†</sup>

> **Executive Officer** The Revd Dr Stephen Pix<sup>†</sup>

## General Committee

The Officers together with: ELECTED: The Revd Canon Peter Boulton (to 1997)

Brian Hanson, Esq. C.B.E. (to 1997) David Harte, Esq. (to 1997) The Revd and Worshipful Chancellor Rupert Bursell, Q.C.† (to 1998) David Cheetham, Esq. (to 1998) The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman\*† (to 1998) Jonathan Cryer, Esq. (to 1998) Mark Hill, Esq. (to 1998) Raymond Hemingray, Esq. (to 1999) John Holden, Esq. (to 1999) The Revd John Masding (to 1999) Charles Mynors, Esq. (to 1999) CO-OPTED: Dr Norman Doe (to 1998) The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby, Q.C. (to 1999) The Worshipful Chancellor Quentin Edwards, Q.C. (to 1999)

\* Member of Executive Committee \* Chairman of the Editorial Committee