Nominations Being Accepted for 2011 APSA Awards

ubmit your nominations for the APSA Dissertation, Book, Paper and Article, and Career Awards, which will be presented at the 2011 Annual Meeting. For more information, visit http://www.apsanet.org/content_2951.cfm. This year's awards include:

DISSERTATION AWARDS

Departments are invited to submit nominations for dissertations that have been completed in the past two academic years. Nominations are due by January 15, 2011.

Gabriel A. Almond Award

In the field of comparative politics.

William Anderson Award

In the field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state or local politics.

Edward S. Corwin Award

In the field of public law.

Harold D. Lasswell Award

In the field of policy studies.

Helen Dwight Reid Award

In the field of international relations, law, and politics

E. E. Schattschneider Award

In the field of American government.

Leo Strauss Award

In the field of political philosophy.

Leonard D. White Award

In the field of public administration.

BOOK AWARDS

Books published in 2010 may be nominated

by individuals or publishers. The deadline for nominations from individuals is January 15, 2011. The deadline for nominations from publishers is February 15, 2011.

Ralph J. Bunche Award

For the best scholarly work in political science that explores the phenomenon of ethnic and cultural pluralism.

Gladys M. Kammerer Award

For the best political science publication in the field of U.S. national policy.

Victoria Schuck Award

For the best book published on women and politics.

Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award

For the best book published in the United States in the field of government, politics, or international affairs.

PAPER AND ARTICLE AWARDS

Nominations are due by December 1, 2010.

Frankin L. Burdette / Pi Sigma Alpha Award

For the best paper presented at the previous Annual Meeting.

Heinz Eulau Award

For the best articles published in the American Political Science Review and Perspectives on Politics during the previous year.

CAREER AWARDS

Bestowed for significant achievements related to political science. Nominations are due by February 1, 2011.

John Gaus Distinguished Award and

Lectureship

Honors the recipient's lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration.

Goodnow Award

Awarded to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to both the development of the political science profession and the building of the American Political Science Association. Nominations are due by December 31, 2010.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

Awarded annually in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.

Benjamin E. Lippincott Award

Awarded biennially to recognize a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that is still considered significant after a time span of at least 15 years since the original date of publication.

Carey McWilliams Award

Awarded annually to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.

James Madison Award and Lectureship

Awarded triennially to recognize an American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science.

Charles E. Merriam Award

Awarded biennially to recognize a person whose published work and career represent a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research.