Association News

formally recognized as an Organized Section in the Association are:

- Public Administration Organizations and Executives
- Federalism and Intergovernmental Relations
- Law, Courts and Judicial Process
- Legislative Studies
- Political Organizations and Parties
- Policy Studies

Scholars in other subfields are now exploring the possibility of forming their own Organized Sections, the benefits of which include: centralized maintenance of membership lists and collection of group dues by APSA, assistance by the national office in distributing newsletters and other material for the Organized Sections, organizing panels for the annual meeting and having those panels integrated in the formal APSA Program listings, official recognition of the group in APSA's membership brochure and membership renewal forms, and special coverage in PS. Some groups have decided that this kind of institutional support can permit them to develop an ongoing organizational structure, and other groups, which were already in existence but unaffiliated with APSA, have found that a somewhat more formal connection to APSA strengthens their organizations.

The decision to become an Organized Section lies with the subfield scholars themselves. Council guidelines governing the formation of Organized Sections are listed in the Fall 1983 issue of *PS* (p. 739).

Political Scientists, Reporters Awarded Congressional Fellowships

The American Political Science Association today announced eight winners in the national competition for the 1984-85 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—four political scientists and four journalists—will come to Washington, D.C. for nine months of full-time

work in the offices of U.S. Senators and Representatives.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding political scientists, journalists, medical faculty and federal agency executives an opportunity to acquire a rich understanding of the national legislative process.

The 1,071 alumni of the program include university presidents, deans and professors; newspaper and magazine publishers, editors and reporters, high ranking executives in the federal bureaucracy, and congressmen and congressional staff aides.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in early November for an orientation period before beginning work in Congressional offices of their choice. The program ends August 15, 1985.

The eight winners, listed below, were selected on the basis of professional experience, superior academic training, career goals and interest in national politics. Other Congressional Fellows, including Federal Executive Fellows, will be announced later this year.

1984-85 Congressional Fellows

Political Science Fellows

Timothy Cook, Assistant Professor, Williams College

Christopher J. Deering, Assistant Professor, The George Washington University

Shirley M. Geiger, Doctoral Candidate, University of South Carolina

Carl E. Van Horn, Associate Professor, Rutgers University

Journalism Fellows

Pamela Abouzeid, San Francisco Correspondent, *The Oakland Tribune*, Oakland, California

Ronald D. Elving, Madison Bureau Chief, The Milwaukee Journal, Madison, Wisconsin

Jeffrey Katz, Editorial Writer, *The Commercial Appeal*, Memphis, Tennessee



Jeffrey L. Katz



Shirley M. Geiger

Christopher J. Deering

APSA Congressional Fellows 1984-85



Larry Warren



Ronald Elving



Timothy E. Cook

Association News

Larry J. Warren, Reporter/Producer, KUTV, Salt Lake City, Utah. □

Section Chairs Welcome Proposals for 1985 Annual Meeting

Richard F. Fenno, Jr., president-elect of APSA, has appointed Joseph Cooper, Dean of the School of Social Sciences at Rice University, to chair the Program Committee for the 1985 Annual Meeting. In addition, scholars have been named to head the 23 sections planned for next year's program. These nominations were approved by the Council at its April 6 meeting.

The Program Committee is composed of Cooper and the section heads. The 1985 Annual Meeting will be held in New Orleans, August 29-September 1, 1985.

On behalf of the Program Committee, Cooper is soliciting from Association members paper suggestions and offers to appear as discussants for next year's meeting. In general, proposals for individual papers are preferred to proposals for whole panels.

Due to the lead time required for preparation of copy for the spring Preliminary Program, the deadline for receiving suggestions is December 1, 1984.

Association members are asked to write directly to the appropriate section chair-person listed below. More general inquiries or suggestions may be addressed to:

- Joseph Cooper, School of Social Sciences, Rice University, Houston, Texas 77251; (713) 527-4824.
- Norinne Hessman, Convention Coordinator, APSA, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036; (202) 483-2512.

Further details on the plans for each section will be provided in the summer issue of *PS*. The section heads are:

1985 Annual Meeting Program Committee

Section 1. Positive Political Theory.

Nicholas R. Miller, Department of Political Science, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Baltimore, Maryland 21228; (301) 445-2187.

Section 2. Empirical Theory and Research Methods. Michael Lewis-Beck, Department of Political Science, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52242; (319) 353-3989.

Section 3. Political Thought and Philosophy: Historical Approaches. Nancy L. Rosenblum, Department of Political Science, Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island 02912; (401) 863-1569; currently at 44 Ballard St., Newton Center, Newton, Massachusetts 02159; (617) 332-4052.

Section 4. Political Thought and Philosophy: Contemporary Analytical and Critical Approaches. Terence Ball, Department of Political Science, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455; (612) 373-2658.

Section 5. Comparative Politics: Institutions and Institutional Change. Suzanne Berger, Department of Political Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139; (617) 253-6640.

Section 6. Comparative Politics: Mass and Elite Attitudes and Behavior. Edward N. Muller, Department of Political Science, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona 85721; (602) 621-7600.

Section 7. Comparative Politics: Public Policy and Policy Making. Donald Kelley, Department of Political Science, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701; (501) 575-3356.

Section 8. Comparative Politics: Development and Change. Richard J. Sisson, Department of Political Science, University of California-Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California 90024; (213) 825-1385.

Section 9. Electoral Behavior and Popular Control. Nancy H. Zingale, Department of Political Science, College of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minnesota 55105; (612) 647-5653.

Section 10. Public Opinion and Political Psychology. Pamela Johnston Conover, Department of Political Science, Univer-