Association News

Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

The Association has received grants from the Asia Foundation and the Institute of International Education to provide limited assistance to visiting foreign national political scientists and advanced graduate students currently in the United States wishing to attend the 1977 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. For details on the two grant programs and application forms, write to the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced winners in the competition for the 1977-78 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1977-78 to attend the university of their choice and 14 non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The fellows were chosen by the Fellowship Selection Committee composed of Robert Martin, Howard University, Chairman; Tyrone Baines, North Carolina Central University; Ed Jackson, Howard University; and Carmen Dupress, Howard University.

Funded Fellows

Debra A. Buie University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Loretta M. Dumas Fisk University

Hazel M. Mack Winston-Salem State University

Belva E. McFarlin South Carolina State College

Deborah D. Morton Norfolk State College

Marilyn West Howard University

Non-Funded Fellows

Mark S. Burke Rutgers University

216 PS Spring 1977

Kriner Cash Princeton University

Charles K. Fields Florida A&M University

Donna E. McFarlane Queens College, CUNY

Sterling S. Miller University of Missouri

Marilyn Mitchell South Carolina State College

Barry J. Morris Tulane University

Zelma A. Mosley Morgan State University

Ervin E. Murfree, Jr. SUNY at Binghamton

Dani R. Newsum University of Colorado

Scipio Smalls Claflin College

Joseph Smiley Florida A&M University

David S. Stott, Jr. Alabama State University

William S. Thompson Federal City College

Elizabeth D. White Oberlin College

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced eight winners in the national competition for the 1977-78 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—six political scientists and two journalists—will come to the Nation's Capital for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$7,500 for the year. The program is financed by foundation grants to the Association and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1977-78 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, Johnson Health Policy Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about December 1, 1977. The Program ends August 15, 1978.

The six winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

1977-78 Congressional Fellows

Political Scientists

Jeffrey Carl Apfel, Ph.D. Candidate, State University of New York at Albany; Adjunct Professor in Government at Russell Sage College.

Frederic Allan Bergerson, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Whittier College.

Murray Peter Dry, Associate Professor of Political Science, Middlebury College.

John Roland Johannes, Associate Professor of Political Science, Marguette University.

Harvey L. Schantz, Ph.D. Candidate, Johns Hopkins University.

Terry Sullivan, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Texas, Austin.

Journalists

Russell Garland, Staff Writer, *Burlington* (Vt.) *Free Press.*

Sylvia Ann Spencer, Capitol Reporter, United Press International, Little Rock.

APSA Committees

The following is a list of Association committees with members who have been appointed by Presidents of the Association with the consent of the Council. Members of the Association are invited to correspond with the Chairperson of any Committee concerning subjects with which his or her Committee is dealing.

I. Constitutional Committees

Administrative Committee

Samuel H. Beer, Harvard University, Chairperson

Fred I. Greenstein, Princeton University Herbert Jacob, Northwestern University

James N. Rosenau, University of Southern California

Frank J. Sorauf, University of Minnesota John C. Wahlke, University of Iowa Dina A. Zinnes, Indiana University

Nominating Committee

Terms expiring December 31, 1978:

William S. Livingston, University of Texas at Austin, Chairperson

Victoria Schuck, Mt. Holyoke College

Raymond Wolfinger, University of California, Berkeley

Terms expiring December 31, 1977: Betty Glad, University of Illinois Ole Holsti, Duke University Gerhard Loewenberg, University of Iowa

Board of Trustees, APSA Trust and Development Fund

Term expiring at end of service as Treasurer: Dina A. Zinnes, Indiana University, Chairperson

Terms expiring December 31, 1979: Ernest Griffith, Washington, D.C. Elmer Staats, Comptroller General of the United States

Terms expiring December 31, 1978: Vincent Browne, Howard University Martha Derthick, Brookings Institution

Terms expiring December 31, 1977: Charles O. Jones, University of Pittsburgh Donald R. Matthews, University of Washington

1977 Annual Meeting Program Committee

Dennis Thompson, Princeton University Henry Teune, University of Pennsylvania Hugh Heclo, The Brookings Institution Jerry F. Hough, Duke University Carl Rosberg, University of California, Berkeley Robert Jervis, University of California, Los Angeles Francis E. Rourke, Johns Hopkins University

Aaron Wildavsky, University of California, Berkelev

Walter F. Berns, Jr., University of Toronto

Barbara Hinckley, University of Wisconsin

Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, Georgetown University Everett C. Ladd, Jr., University of Connecticut

Deil S. Wright, University of North Carolina,

Chapel Hill

Victoria Schuck, Mt. Holyoke College

APSR Editorial Board

Nelson W. Polsby, Managing Editor, University of California, Berkeley

- Philip Siegelman, Book Review Editor, San Francisco State University
- Shlomo Avineri, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Lucius Barker, Washington University, St. Louis

Brian Barry, University of British Columbia

Richard A. Brody, Stanford University

Samuel D. Cook, Dillard University

Elmer E. Cornwell, Brown University

- S. Rufus Davis, Monash University
- Robert J. Jackson, Carleton University
- Robert Jervis, University of California, Los Angeles
- Dale Rogers Marshall, University of California, Davis

Russell D. Murphy, Wesleyan University