ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain



SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

The Alice Davis Hitchcock Medallion is presented annually to authors of outstanding contributions to the literature of architectural history. Recipients of the award have been:

| 1959: H. M. COLVIN | 1974: DR J. MORDAUNT CROOK & |
|----------------------------------|-------------------------------|
| 1960: SIR JOHN SUMMERSON | M. H. Port |
| 1961: DR KERRY DOWNES | 1975: DR DAVID WATKIN |
| 1962: JOHN FLEMING | 1976: PROFESSOR ANTHONY BLUNT |
| 1963: MISS DOROTHY STROUD | 1977: ANDREW SAINT |
| 1964: DR F. H. W. SHEPPARD | 1978: Peter Smith |
| 1965: DR H. M. & MRS JOAN TAYLOR | 1979: Ted Ruddock |
| 1966: SIR NIKOLAUS PEVSNER | 1980: DR Allan Braham |
| 1967: DR MARK GIROUARD | 1981: HOWARD COLVIN |
| 1968: CHRISTOPHER HUSSEY | 1982: PETER THORNTON |
| 1969: PROFESSOR PETER COLLINS | 1983: DR MAURICE CRAIG |
| 1970: Dr A. H. Gomme & | 1984: WILLIAM CURTIS |
| D. M. WALKER | 1985: JILL LEVER |
| 1971: JOHN HARRIS | 1986: DAVID BROWNLEE |
| 1972: HERMIONE HOBHOUSE | 1987: DR JOHN HARVEY |
| 1973: DR MARK GIROUARD | 1988: ROGER STALLEY |

The Society's Essay Medal is presented annually to the winner of the Society's essay medal competition. The regulations are available from the Honorary Secretary. Recipients of the medal have been:

- 1982: GORDON HIGCOTT
- 1983: DR NEIL JACKSON
- 1984: JOSEPH SHARPLES
- 1985: No award was made
- 1986: LAURA JACOBUS
- 1987: TIM MOWL
- 1988: GILES WORSLEY

ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY

Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain

Volume 32: 1989

SOCIETY OF ARCHITECTURAL HISTORIANS OF GREAT BRITAIN

Founded 1956: incorporated 1964

The Society exists to encourage an interest in the history of architecture, to provide opportunities for the exchange and discussion of ideas related to this subject and to publish, in its journal, Architectural History, significant source material and the results of original research

OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 1988-89

President: John Newman MA FSA

Past President: Kerry Downes PHD FSA

Chairman: Andor Gomme ма рнд FSA

Honorary Secretary: Ruth Harman BA

Honorary Treasurer: Frank Kelsall MA FSA

Executive Committee Rebecca Barker BARCH Maurice Howard MA PHD Jeanne Sheehy MA Jill Lever BA

David Yeomans BSC(ENG)PHD Charles Saumarez Smith MA Esther Caplin MA

Bankers: Barclays Bank plc, University Branch, 137 Oxford Road, Manchester MI 7EA

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Allan Braham PHD Howard Colvin CBE FBA HON FRIBA J. Mordaunt Crook MA DPHIL FSA Kerry Downes PHD FSA John Harris FSA HON FRIBA Peter Willis PHD ARIBA FSA

HONORARY EDITOR

Peter Draper ма FSA

Applications for membership and all correspondence concerning the Society should be addressed to: Ruth Harman, 55 Blakeney Road, Sheffield \$10 IFD

Correspondence concerning the Society's publications should be addressed to: Peter Draper, Department of History of Art, Birkbeck College, Malet Street, London WCIE 7HX

Books for review in the Society's Newsletter should be sent to: Christopher Wakeling, Department of Adult Education, University of Keele, Keele, Staffordshire, ST5 5BG

> Copyright © 1989 ISSN: 0066–622x

Printed by W. S. Maney and Son Ltd, Hudson Road, Leeds LS9 7DL Set in Linotron Bembo

CONTENTS

| RECONSTRUCTING THE OCTAGONAL DINING ROOM OF NERO'S GOLDEN HOUSE | |
|---|-----|
| by David Hemsoll | Ι |
| ARCHAEOLOGY AND ICONOGRAPHY: RECENT DEVELOPMENTS IN THE STUDY OF ENGLISH MEDIEVAL ARCHITECTURE | |
| by Eric Fernie | 18 |
| JOHN THORPE AND ASTON HALL | |
| by Oliver Fairclough | 30 |
| DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE FOR THE BUILDING OF RAYNHAM HALL | |
| by Linda Campbell | 52 |
| LORD BURLINGTON IN WHARFEDALE | |
| by Peter Leach | 68 |
| ARCHITECTS AND CRAFTSMEN AT DITCHLEY | |
| by Andor Gomme | 85 |
| DOWNTON CASTLE: FUNCTION AND MEANING | |
| by Andrew Ballantyne | 105 |
| A CALL TO ORDER: THE ROME PRIZE AND EARLY TWENTIETH-CENTURY BRITISH ARCHITECTURE | |
| by Louise Campbell | 131 |
| METAL FRAME HOUSES OF THE MODERN MOVEMENT IN LOS ANGELES | |
| by Neil Jackson | 152 |
| | |

The Society acknowledges with gratitude a grant from the RIBA for the article by Louise Campbell