

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF LAW & MEDICINE, INC.

OFFICERS. Elliot L. Sagall, M.D. President Dougtas Danner, LL.B. First Vice President Richard F. Gibbs, M.A., M.D., J.D. Vice President Michael D. Jusell Michael D. Jusein Secretary Harry C. Reed, LL.B. Treesure J Hobertson Knowles, M.D. Honorary Secretary - Treasurer COUNCIL MEMBERS: MEDICINE IEDICINE Donatd B. Barkan, M.D., F.A.C.P. Howard A. Frank, M.D. Joseph Franklin, M.D., M.P.H. Robert R. Mezer, M.D. Hiriam Varquez Mian, M.D. Ver S. Rawin, M.D. Alain B. Rossier, M.D. Sidney Scheries, M.D. Filchard C. Webster, M.D. LAW AW Thomas E. Cargil, Jr., LLB. Noi L. Chayet, J.D. Kattioen Ryan Dacey, J.D. Roy N. Freed, LLB. Bernard D. Hirsh, J.D. John A. Norrs, J.D. M.B.A. Leo M. O'Connor, LLB. Lawrence J. Smith, J.D. Edward M. Swartz, LLB, ILM. Kohen E. Wenten, J.D. M.B. Charles E. Westcoll, J.D., M.B.A. INSURANCE ISURANCE Eli Bernzweig, J.D. Joseph D. Lonergan George P. Sawyer John Larkin Thompson, J.D. David Z. Webster, LL B., M.B.A JUDICIARY Hon, Arlyne F. Hassell Hon, Robert L. Hermann Hon John V. Keaney Hon John J. McNaught Hon, Max Rosenn DENTISTRY Paul Goldhaber, D.D.S John W. Stone, D.D.S., J.D. Robert B. Shira, D.D.S. NURSING Calheryne A. Welch, R.N., B.S., M.A., Ed D OTHER HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS James F. Holzer, J.D. Iri Lucas, LL B. Beatrice Phillips, M.S.W., A.C.S.W. FUUCATION George J. Annas, J.D., M.P.H. Richard G. Huber, J.D., LL.M. Harold L. Hirsh, M.D., J.D. Frances H. Miller, J.D. Richard S. Milstein, J.D. Trichage Herbert H. Bernnett, ILB Herbert H. Bernnett, ILB Hon Leonade S. Badner Hon Harry W. Dahl Lee J. Dunn, Jr., J.D., LLM. trans Kian, M.D., M.D., J.D. Kewn M. McIhtyre, M.D., J.D. Kewn M. McIhtyre, M.D., J.D. Mitchell T. Raban, M.D. James G. Zimmerly, M.D., J.D., M.P.H.

Page 2

NEWS FROM THE SOCIETY-

RATTIGAN AWARDS MADE TO 21 STUDENTS

Winners of the 1975 John P. Rattigan Student Essay Award Competition were announced recently by Dr. Elliot L. Sagall, president of the American Society of Law & Medicine. Response to the contest was so overwhelming that Committee Award Chalrperson Richard G. Huber, Dean of the Boston College Law School and Director of the ASLM Student Programs Division added fifteen Certificate of Merit awards to the three cash prizes and three Honorable Mention awards.

Selected to receive the First Prize award of \$300 was Park Elliot Dietz of The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, School of Hygiene and Public Health, and Faculty of Arts and Sciences. Mr. Dietz's essay focused on recommendations that schools of medicine and other health sciences adopt a clinical approach to teaching law and medicine as a natural part of the curriculum.

The \$150 Second Prize went to Joseph G. Rimlinger, Jr., for his paper on "Dying, Death and the Law: Some Ethical Considerations," Mr. Rimlinger submitted his essay while a student at the University of South Dakota School of Law.

William S. Elkus of Harvard Law School received the \$100 Third Prize for his paper on "Huntington's Chorea: The Legal and Ethical Issues." A complete list of students cited for Honorable Mention and Certificate of Merit is available upon request. The enthusiastic response by graduate students and faculty to the 1975 competition has prompted the Rattigan Fund Committee to recommend a similar contest for 1976. A formal announcement with rules and instructions to authors has been mailed to the Deans and libraries of all U.S. colleges and universities with educational programs of interest in areas where law and medicine interrelate.

As its second major educational endeavor, the Ratligan Fund Committee hopes to inaugurate an annual Lectureship in Legal Medicine in the Fall of 1976. The proposed lectureship would hopefully per

Continued on page 10

MALPRACTICE/PRODUCTS LIABILITY TRIAL DEMONSTRATION SET FOR MARCH 10th

The Third Annual MalpracticefiProducts Liability Trial Demonstration, cosponsored by the American Society of Law & Medicine and the Boston University Center for Law and Health Sciences will be held on Wednesday, March 10, 1976 at the B.U. School of Law's Alumni Auditorium starting at 9:00 a.m. This year's mock-trial will be based upon a fact pattern involving an intrauterine device (IUD) failure followed by hysterectomy. The plaintiff will allege lack of informed consent in performing the hysterectomy against the physician, and breach of warranty and failure to warn against the manufacturer. The Honorable James Lynch, Associate Justice of the Superior Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, will preside.

As with the two previous trial demonstrations, the participants will include some of the country's most prominent trial attorneys. Among them will be Boston Attorneys Paul R. Sugarman, Enid M. Starr, Barry C. Reed, Charles J. Dunn, Jr., Leo M. Lazo, Thomas E. Cargill, Leonard H. Glantz, Bernard A. Dwork, John A. Norris, Patrick R. Carroll, Thomas F. Lambert, John F. Dunn, and David A. Barry. Physicians par-ticipating will include ASLM President Elliot L. Sagall, Donald B. Barkan, and Valentina Donahue. Program co-chairpersons are George J. Annas and Douglas Danner, both of whom will serve on the faculty. A background memorandum of law is being prepared by attorneys Patricia Levine and Barbara F. Katz. Also participating is Professor Robert Rose of MIT. The written fact pattern will be printed in the program brochure to be mailed next month.

Registration fee will be \$12.50 for ASLM members, and \$15.00 for non-members. Students enrolled at a college or university will be admitted for \$2.50 with proper identification. Members of the ASLM's Student Division will be admitted for \$1.00.

For further information and a copy of the fact pattern for the trial demonstration, write the Director of Programs and Information, American Society of Law & Medicine, 454 Brookline Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts 02215, or telephone (617) 734-8316.



MEDICOLEGAL NEWS VOL. 4, NO. 1