## BRITISH SOCIETY FOR THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE

The British Society was founded in June 1965 by formally appointed representatives of the Royal Society of Medicine (History of Medicine Section), the Faculty of the History of Medicine and Pharmacy of the Society of Apothecaries, the Scottish Society of the History of Medicine, and the Osler Club of London. Since that date two new and successful societies have been formed and have been enrolled as constituent bodies of the British Society. These are the Society for the Social History of Medicine and the British Society for the History of Pharmacy.

The chief objects of the British Society are (i) to represent on a national scale the various societies and groups active in the history of medicine and pharmacy in the United Kingdom; (ii) to represent the United Kingdom in all activities of the International Society of the History of Medicine which has, since 1921, sponsored the long series of international congresses on the history of medicine; (iii) to continue the series of biennial national congresses on the history of medicine, the first five of which were organized by the Faculty of the History of Medicine and Pharmacy, and the eighth of which is to be held in Liverpool on 8–11 September 1971 under the presidency of Lord Cohen of Birkenhead; and (iv) to co-ordinate the programmes of meetings arranged by all the constitutent bodies in order to avoid, as far as possible, any conflict of dates and times.

The British Society arranges no programme of meetings of its own, apart from national and international congresses. It has been entrusted by the International Society with the organization of the 23rd International Congress, which will be held in London on 2–9 September 1972, just fifty years after the Congress last met in London.

The membership of the British Society follows the same lines as that of the International Society, i.e. members of the federated bodies are not automatically individual members of the federal body but may apply for individual membership, which carries the privilege of a reduced fee for attendance at the national congresses. The annual subscription for individual members (British nationals only may join) is £4.00, in return for which members also receive the Society's official journal, *Medical History*. Similarly, individual members of the British Society are not automatically members of the International Society. The annual subscription for this is 25 French francs, in return for which members may register for attendance at International Congresses at a reduced fee. Names of applicants for membership of the International Society are proposed at regular intervals by the British national delegate to the Permanent Committee in Paris.

The officers of the British Society are elected from their number by the representatives of the constituent bodies (two from each), which form the Society's committee. They are as follows:

President: Lord Cohen of Birkenhead

Vice-Presidents: Dr. F. N. L. Poynter (Faculty, Society of Apothecaries)

Dr. K. Bryn Thomas (Royal Society of Medicine)

Hon. Secretary: Dr. D. Geraint James (Osler Club)

Assistant Hon. Secretary: Dr. J. K. Crellin (Faculty, Society of Apothecaries)

307

## News, Notes and Queries

Treasurer: Dr. A. White Franklin (Osler Club)

- Other members: The Society's Chairman and Secretary, Mr. G. Wilson (Society for the Social History of Medicine
  - Dr. M. P. Earles and Mr. L. G. Matthews (British Society for the History of Pharmacy)
  - Two representatives from the Scottish Society for the History of Medicine (to be nominated)

Dr. W. T. Stearn (British Society for the History of Science) Miss Jessie Dobson (formerly Osler Club, now co-opted) Sir Zachary Cope and Dr. Douglas Guthrie, the Society's first President, are Honorary Presidents for life.

Full details of the Eighth British Congress of the History of Medicine (Liverpool, 8–11 September 1971) are obtainable from: Wellcome Institute of the History of Medicine, 183 Euston Road, London, N.W.1.