COMMISSION 20

MINOR PLANETS, COMETS AND SATELLITES

POSITION AND MOTION OF

POSITION ET MOUVEMENT DES PETITES PLANÈTES, DES COMÈTES ET DES SATELLITES

Giovanni B. Valsecchi Julio Fernandez Edward L. G. Bowell Jean-Eudes Arlot, Edward L. G. Bowell, Yulia A. Chernetenko, Steven R. Chesley, Daniela Lazzaro, Anne Lemaitre, Brian G. Marsden, Karri Muinonen, Hans Rickman, David J. Tholen, Makoto Yoshikawa

DIVISION III / COMMISSION 20 WORKING GROUPS

Division III / Commission 20 / WG Service: Minor Planet Center Division III / Commission 20 / WG Motions of Comets Division III / Commission 20 / WG Distant Objects

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS MEETING on 22 August 2006

1. Membership of the Commission

A total of 16 among the new IAU members have asked to join Commission 20; they are: Jerome Berthier, Nicholas J. Cooper, Marco Delbò, Romina P. Di Sisto, Michael W. Evans, Tetsuharu Fuse, Ludmila Hudkova, Yurij N. Krugly, Elena N. Polyakhova, Zhanna Pozhalova, Alessandro Rossi, Qi Rui, Jonathan D. Shanklin, Slawomira E. Szutowicz, Gino Tuccari and Hong-Suh Yim. Moreover, two requests to join the Commission have been received by astronomers that are already IAU members: Peter De Cat and Ricardo A. Gil-Hutton.

The Commission stands briefly in silence, in memory of the members deceased since the IAU XXV General Assembly, Nikolaj S. Chernykh and Fred L. Whipple.

2. Past IAU meetings sponsored by the Commission

In the past triennium, three major meetings of interest to the Commission have taken place: • IAU Colloquium No. 197 "Dynamics of Populations of Planetary Systems", 31 August - 4 September 2004, Belgrade, Serbia and Montenegro;

• IAU Symposium No.229 "Asteroids, Comets, Meteors 2005", 7-12 August 2005, Búzios, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil;

• IAU Symposium No. 236 "Near Earth Objects, our Celestial Neighbors: Opportunity and Risk", 14-18 August 2006, Prague, Czech Republic (at this General Assembly).

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

3. Proposal for a future IAU Symposium of interest for Commission 20

Julio Fernández describes a proposal for a Symposium to be proposed for the next IAU General Assembly; the provisional title is "Icy bodies and the early solar system".

4. New officers and OC members

The president presents the list of possible new officers of the Commission; before any decision on the new officers, the Commission discusses the opportunity that members of the Organizing Committee step down, under normal circumstances, after two triennia. This is decided by a nearly unanimous vote (one abstention). The following members of the current OC agree to step down: Jean-Eudes Arlot, Edward L. G. Bowell, Anne Lemaitre, Brian G. Marsden, Hans Rickman.

The Commission then appoints the new members of the OC: Alan Gilmore, Petr Pravec, Tim Spahr, Jana Ticha, Jin Zhu, votes on the new Secretary, that is Steve Chesley, and appoints the new president and vice-presidents, that are Julio Fernández and Makoto Yoshikawa, respectively.

5. The present and future of the Commission

The Commission then discusses a number of relevant issues: among these, particular attention is devoted to the problem of assigning discovery credits for minor bodies, especially in view of the revolution that is likely to happen as a consequence of the new surveys. It is decided that the new president of Commission 20 will appoint a task group with the purpose of deciding in a reasonable time frame (before the start of operations of the new surveys) if new rules are needed, and what they should be.

Finally, the problem of the possible merging with Commission 15 in 2009 is discussed. A decision will have to be taken within the next triennium; to accumulate experience on what such a merging could bring, it is decided that the OC of Commission 20 will keep informed of all of its decisions the OC of Commission 15 (the reciprocal will also happen, in agreement with the Officers of Commission 15), so that both OCs will gather sufficient information on the business of both Commissions, to be able to make a wise decision in due time.

Giovanni B. Valsecchi president of the Commission