Division I: Fundamental Astronomy

PRESIDENT: Toshio Fukushima
VICE-PRESIDENT: Jan Vondrak
ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: Nicole Capitaine, Veronique Dehant,
George Krasinsky, Demetrios Matsakis, Andrea Milani
and Imant Platais

IAU Division I includes Commission 4 (Ephemerides), Commission 7 (Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical Astronomy), Commission 8 (Astrometry), Commission 19 (Rotation of the Earth) and Commission 31 (Time). The Division has in addition five Working Groups on, respectively, Future Development of Ground-Based Astrometry, Nomenclature for Fundamental Astrometry, Definition of Coordinated Universal Time, and Precession and the Ecliptic.

The following reports from the scientific groups of the Division document the rapidly evolving, highly dynamic fields of fundamental astronomy.