Weed Science

www.cambridge.org/wsc

William K. Vencill

Professor and Editor, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, USA

Editorial for *Weed Science*, Volume 70

Editorial

Cite this article: Vencill WK (2022) Editorial for Weed Science, Volume 70. Weed Sci. **70**: 1–3. doi: 10.1017/wsc.2021.72

Received: 5 October 2021

Associate Editor:

William Vencill, University of Georgia

Author for correspondence:

William K. Vencill, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602. Email: wvencill@uga.edu It has been an interesting couple of years in science as in other aspects of life. We appreciate the efforts of all to continue submitting and reviewing submissions during trying times. We are always appreciative of the efforts of reviewers and associate editors.

Weed Science continues to be one of the premier journals in the discipline and in the agronomic sciences. The editorial board and the staff strive to improve the efficiency of the publication process and improve the scope of the journal. Weed Science seeks to publish more reviews and symposium articles. This past year, Weed Science published a special issue on weedy rice and a review in every issue published this year. For the coming year, we have some interesting reviews lined up and hope to expand the 2015 special issue on research methods.

There are a few initiatives we are trying to pursue. We hope to add some reviewer training sessions for those interested in reviewing for the journal or wanting to hone their skills. We are exploring the possibility of adding graphical abstracts to the journal. Finally, I would like to point out to those who may not be aware that *Weed Science*, like the other WSSA journals, is a what we call a hybrid journal and does publish open access articles. There is a growing trend toward publishing in the open access format, and our data show that articles published open access tend to have more downloads, social media mentions, and citations over time.

For the 12 months preceding October 1, 2021, 197 manuscripts were submitted to *Weed Science* compared with 222 in the previous 12-month period. Of the manuscripts submitted, 41.7% were accepted compared with 43.8% the previous year. The time from submission to first decision was 38.5 days this past year compared with 36.9 days for the previous year.

We are happy to report that the impact factor for *Weed Science* increased from 2.258 to 2.713 for this past year, and the 5-year impact factor increased from 2.441 to 2.868. I do want to point out the calculation for impact factor changed a bit this past year, so all journals saw a greater than average year to year increase in the impact factor. Nonetheless, it is a testament to the quality of submissions and review process.

For the year preceding October 1, 2021, the journal depended on 258 unique reviewers. The excellent reputation of the journal would not be possible without the cutting-edge research submitted by authors and the diligent work of the editorial board and the hundreds of referred reviews that are submitted annually. I wish to thank the members of the editorial board and reviewers for 2021.

© The Author(s), 2022. Published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the Weed Science Society of America.



Editorial Board 2021

Muthukumar V. Bagavathiannan

Nathan Boyd Ian Burke Carlene Chase Bhagirath Chauhan

Sharon Clay
Timothy L. Grey
Erin Haramoto
Prashant Jha
Mithila Jugulam
Vipan Kumar
Ramon Leon
Sara Martin
Chris Preston
Dean Riechers
Hilary Sandler
Steven Seefeldt

Chenxi Wu

Debalin Sarangi Patrick J. Tranel

Te-Ming Paul Tseng Martin M. Williams II

Weed Science Reviewers 2021 Seth Bernard E. Abugho

Albert Adjesiwor

Pedro Luis Costa Aguiar Alves

Rouhollah Amini Lars W. J. Anderson Neil O. Anderson

Rosalyn B. Angeles-Shim

Jamshid Ashigh Elham Badalzadeh Rajesh Barua Suma Basak

Nicholas T. Basinger Carol Baskin

Carol Baskin
Shawn C. Beam
Clint Beiermann
Chris Benedict
Sarah Berger
Göran Bergkvist
Mark Lee Bernards
Thierry E. Besancon
Mandy Danielle Bish
Lucas K. Bobadilla
Christian Bohren
Catherine Borger

Whitney B. Brim-DeForest

Simon Brooks James T. Brosnan Caio Augusto Brunharo

Jessica R. Bugg John Tyler Buol Erin Burns Shane Campbell Zhe Cao

Daniel Brainard

Andrea Cavalieri

Buddhika Sampath Chamara

Rakesh S. Chandran

Graham William Charles Michael J. Christoffers Robert Cicchillo Drake Copeland Roberto Javier J. Crespo

Caleb D. Dalley

José Luiz Carvalho de Souza Dias Masilamany Dilipkumar

J. Anita Dille

Espinosa-García Espinosa

Peter M. Eure
Yan-Ming Fang
Jason Ferrell
Michael L. Flessner
Reginald Fletcher
Silvia Fogliatto
Michael Fulcher
Karla Gage
Todd A. Gaines
Zahoor A. Ganie
John F. Gaskin
Roland Gerhards
Katherine M. Ghantous
Sambuddha Ghosal

Ken Giller

Thomas K. Gitsopoulos

Danica Goggin Robin Gomez Clebson G. Gonçalves Greta Gramig Robert H. Gulden Jiuxin Guo

Nathan Daniel Hall Nick T. Harre Erika J. Haug Marshall Hay

Gerald Matthew Henry
Jerri Lynn Henry
Erin C. Hill
David P. Horvath
Verónica Hoyos
Cynthia Huebner
Joseph T. Ikley
Lynn Ingegneri
Suphannika Intanon
Marie A. Jasieniuk
David H. Johnson
Christopher Johnston
Anestis Karkanis
Nicholas E. Korres
Robert J. Kremer

Robert J. Kremer Anil Kumar Vipan Kumar Martin Laforest Sarah Lancaster Stephanie Lavergne Erik A. Lehnhoff Deying Li Gui Li Meng Li

Shaoshan Li

Steve Li

Weed Science 3

Rui Liu

Mark M. Loux

Neil William MacDonald

Gulshan Mahajan Mavank S. Malik

Misha Rose Manuchehri

Buddhi Marambe

Claudia Elizabeth Marchesi

Joseph H. Massey Amar Matloob Maor Matzrafi Cara McCauley Mohsen B. Mesgaran Stephen L. Meyers Lindsey Milbrath

Muhamad Shakirin Mispan

Marcelo L. Moretti Brent Murphy Huong Nguyen Stephen John Novak Dennis Calvin Odero O. Adewale Osipitan Maria Dolores Osuna Ruiz Daniel Owens

Balaji Aravindhan Pandian Ronald Edward Peachey

Lora Perkins Kirrilly Pfitzner Cristiano Piasecki Luan Pierre Pott Rao Rachaputi Neha Rana

Sandeep Singh Rana Gulab Rangani Corey V. Ransom Dawn Refsell Joel Reves-Cabrera

Sonia Rios

Jonne Rodenburg Jai S. Rohila Christopher Rouse Aritz Royo-Esnal Marvin E. Ruffner Matthew Ryan

Brian J. Schutte

Lauren M. Schwartz-Lazaro

Xueyan Sha Nooshin Shahbazi Shaun Michael Sharpe Lovreet Singh Shergill

Vijay Singh Lynn Sosnoskie Douglas J. Spaunhorst Benjamin Patrick Sperry David E. Stoltenberg Harry John Strek Nithya Subramanian Hudson K. Takano François J. Tardif Breanne D. Tidemann

Juan Camilo Velásquez Rodríguez

Roman Boris Vercellino

Ilias S. Travlos

Michael Walsh Li Wang Sarah Ward Dai Wei-Min Rodrigo Werle Scott Neil White Christian J. Willenborg Dong-Hong Wu

Marcos Ezequiel Yanniccari

Inacio Yano Melinda Yerka Carla Yerkes Bryan G. Young Bernard H. Zandstra

Qi Zhang Can Zhao Gladis Zinati Lewis H. Ziska

Reference

2020 Journal Citation Reports Science Edition (2021) New York: Thomson Reuters.