Research and Training Support

in merit order, although in the case of applications deemed to be of essentially equal merit, such additional factors as institutional, geographical, and disciplinary distribution will be considered. Selections will be made without regard to race, color, religion, sex, age, or national origin. Employees of ACDA or relatives of employees are not eligible for this program.

The Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowships in Arms Control and Disarmament will normally be awarded for a period of 12 months. Each Fellow will receive a stipend of \$3,900. No dependency allowances will be paid. No applicant will be eligible for more than one Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship, although in exceptional cases extensions of up to three additional months may be granted (prorated at \$325 per month). In addition, ACDA will pay any applicable tuition and fees for one year (up to a maximum of \$3,400) to the institution in which the Fellowship winner is enrolled.

Each Fellow will be required to submit to ACDA quarterly progress reports which must be approved by the dissertation adviser, a copy of the final dissertation as approved by the academic institution, and a 5- to 10-page summary of the dissertation's principal findings.

Potential applicants should note that ACDAsupported research dealing with foreign relations or with foreign areas and peoples must be approved in advance by the Department of State if the project involves foreign travel or contact with foreign nationals. Obtaining this permission may involve some delay in initiation of the award.

Fellows will not have access to classified information or conduct research on ACDA premises. Consequently, they will not be processed by ACDA for a security clearance nor will any existing security clearance they may hold be accepted as a basis for allowing access to classified information in connection with this program.

The following schedule applies for the first two competitions for Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowships in Arms Control and Disarmament. Awards for the period January 1, 1979-December 31, 1979: application deadline, July 1, 1978; announcement of final selection, October 1, 1978. Awards for the period September 1, 1979-August 31, 1980: application deadline, March 1, 1979; announcement of final selection, June 1, 1979. Note: Applications will not be accepted before June 1, 1978.

For application materials, write: Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program, U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, Washington, D.C. 20451.

Announcement of Awards

1978-79 American Fulbright Scholars in Political Science

Forth-two American political scientists have been awarded 1978-79 Fulbright awards for university teaching, advanced research and consultation. They are as follows:

Robert B. Albritton, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Richard S. Beal, Brigham Young University.

George F. Cole, University of Connecticut, Storrs.

David P. Conradt, University of Florida, Gainesville.

Paul T. David, University of Virginia.

Kenneth L. Deutsch, SUNY, Geneseo.

Maurice A. East, University of Kentucky, Lexington.

Milton J. Esman, Cornell University.

Lee W. Farnsworth, Brigham Young University.

Stephen A. Garrett, Monterey Institute of Foreign Studies, California.

Forest L. Grieves, University of Montana, Missoula.

Michael M. Gunter, Tennessee Technological University.

Donna Jay Guy, University of Arizona.

Stephen C. Halpern, SUNY, Buffalo.

Linn A. Hammergren, Vanderbilt University.

Martin O. Heisler, University of Maryland, College Park.

Hugh F. Hinton, University of Toledo.

Eric J. Hooglund, Bowdoin College.

Eric George James, Baruch College, CUNY.

Richard A. Joseph, University of Ibadan.

Mark J. Kesselman, Columbia University.

John W. Kitchens, Tuskegee Institute.

Norman Kogan, University of Connecticut, Storrs.

Joel Larus, New York University.

Nancy I. Lieber, University of California, Davis.

Howard E. McCurdy, American University.

Clarke D. Neher, Northern Illinois University.

Daniel N. Nelson, University of Kentucky.

David L. Paletz, Duke University.

William J. Parente, University of Scranton.

Don Peretz, SUNY, Binghamton.

Melvin Richter, Hunter College and CUNY.

Warner Schilling, Columbia University.

Edgar L. Sherbenou, Northern Illinois University.

Max J. Skidmore, Southwest Missouri State University.

Gerald C. Swanson, Texas A&M University, College Station.

M. Ladd Thomas, Northern Illinois University. John A. Bosburgh, University of Arizona.

Theodore R. Weber, Emory University.

Gary W. Wynia, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.

Raphael Zariski, University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

L. Harmon Zeigler, University of Oregon.

1978-79 ACE Fellows

Two political scientists are among the 42 1978-79 American Council on Education Fellows. During the Fellowship, each Fellow, either on a home or host campus, works with at least two mentors, most often the president and academic officer. The Fellow participates in academic administration and policy making and engages in other activities. The two 1978-79 political science ACE Fellows are Tyrone R. Baines of North Carolina Central University and a member of the *PS* Editorial Board, and Abbott A. Brayton of East Tennessee State University.

ACLS Awards

Two political scientists are among the awardees of American Council of Learned Societies grants-in-aid for post-doctoral research in the humanities and related social sciences. They are Donald K. Emmerson of the University of Wisconsin, and Diane B. Paul of the University of Massachusetts, Boston.

SSRC Awards

The Social Science Research Council (SSRC) has announced the following awards:

International Doctoral Research Fellowships

CHINA
Jean Chun Oi, University of Michigan
LATIN AMERICA AND THE
CARIBBEAN
Maria Helene Moreira Alves, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

SOUTHEAST ASIA Stephen R. Heder, Cornell University WESTERN EUROPE Carol H. O'Day, University of Texas, Austin

Grants for International Postdoctoral Research

CHINA
Bernie Frolic, York University
Hong Yung Lee, Earlham College
Susan L. Shirk, University of California, San
Diego

TRAINING IN EAST ASIA
Brantly Womack, University of Texas, Dallas

EASTERN EUROPE

Roger E. Kanet, University of Illinois

JAPAN

Ellis S. Krauss, Western Washington University Chae-Jin Lee, University of Kansas

KOREA

Wonmo Dong, Southern Methodist University

LATIN AMERICA
Ruth Collier, Indiana University
Edward Gonzalez, University of California, Los
Angeles

Jose Antonio Viera-Gallo, IPALMO (Institute for the Relations Between Italy and the Countries of Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East, Rome)

NEAR AND MIDDLE EAST Donna Robinson Divine, Smith College

SOUTH ASIA Harry W. Blair, Bucknell University SOUTHEAST ASIA Daniel S. Lev, University of Washington