Association News

Annual Meeting Visiting Foreign National Travel Grant Program

The Association has received grants from the Asia Foundation and the Institute of International Education to provide limited assistance to visiting foreign national political scientists and advanced graduate students currently in the United States wishing to attend the 1978 APSA Annual Meeting in New York, New York. For details on the two grant programs and application forms, write to the American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036.

1978-79 APSA Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced winners in the competition for the 1978-79 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1978-79 to attend the university of their choice and four non-funded fellows. The non-funded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The fellows were chosen by the Fellowship Selection Committee composed of Robert Martin, Howard University, Chairman; Augustus Adair, Morgan State University; and Ed Jackson, Howard University.

Funded Fellows

Cheryl Ann Bivins Tuskegee Institute

John Angelo Butler University of San Diego

Wanda Andrews Fisk University

Charlesetta Mae Graham Fisk University

Patricia Lee Williams
Tuskegee Institute

Wanda Renette Austin Texas Southern University

Non-Funded Fellows Gail C. Wright

Jackson State University

Malik Hakim Harvard College Deborah Lynne Shelton Pitzer College

Anthony M. Johnson Florida A&M University

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced eight winners in the national competition for the 1978-79 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—six political scientists and four journalists—will come to the Nation's Capital for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1978-79 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, Johnson Health Policy Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about December 1, 1978. The Program ends August 15, 1979.

The eight winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

1978-79 Congressional Fellows

Political Scientists

Jo Freeman, Staff Associate in Employment Policy, The Brookings Institution

Barbara Deckard Sinclair, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of California, Riverside

Floyd E. Stoner, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Marquette University.

Charles M. Tidmarch, Associate Professor of Political Science, Union College.

Journalists

Jean S. Peters, General Assignment Reporter, Akron Beacon Journal.