THE ROYAL INSTITUTE OF PHILOSOPHY

FOUNDED 1925

President:

THE RT. HON. THE EARL OF HALSBURY, F.R.I.C., F.INST.P., F.R.S.

Chairman of the Council: PROFESSOR H. D. LEWIS, M.A., B.LITT., D.D.

Hon. Director: PROFESSOR GODFREY N. A. VESEY, M.A., M.LITT.

> Hon. Editor of 'Philosophy': PROFESSOR H. B. ACTON, M.A., D.PHIL.

Hon. Assistant Director: STUART C. BROWN, M.A., Ph.D.

> Secretary: JOAN M. JOYCE

'PHILOSOPHY' is the Journal of the Royal Institute of Philosophy and its editorial policy is therefore governed by the aims of the Institute. These aims are to promote the study of philosophy and to encourage original work in it. 'Philosophy' is understood as covering ethics, aesthetics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, political and social philosophy, the philosophies of education, history, language, mind, religion and science. The Institute is not committed to any school or method. Neither is its membership restricted to those with specialist qualifications in philosophy. Contributors are therefore expected to present their views in as non-technical a manner as their subjectmatter permits.

MEMBERSHIP. The Institute welcomes as members any who are interested in philosophy. There are centres of the Institute at the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, the University College of North Wales and The University of Southern California. In these centres, as well as at the Institute's Headquarters, 14 Gordon Square, London, WC1H OAG, a programme of lectures is arranged each year.

The annual membership subscription to the Institute is $\pounds 2.50$, $\pounds 6.50$ in the U.S.A. and Canada. This covers the Journal but not the volumes in the Royal Institute of Philosophy Lectures series. Membership is effective from 1st April of any year. Those joining at other times will receive any numbers of the journal which have already appeared in the relevant membership year.

Applications for membership should be made to the Secretary, Royal Institute of Philosophy, 14 Gordon Square, London, WC1H OAG.