6. COMMISSION DES TELEGRAMMES ASTRONOMIQUES

Report of Meeting, 1 September 1964

PRESIDENT: A. R. Hogg.

SECRETARY: K. A. Thernöe.

The President announced that it had been reported that the Copenhagen Observatory was no longer able to continue the work of the Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams.

Dr Michard and Miss Lincoln jointly described the organization of the IUWDS in its distribution of geophysical data by telegram and telex services. The necessary distribution of announcement cards could not be handled by IUWDS.

Dr Whipple said that the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory had facilities for continuing the entire work of the Bureau, but expressed some concern that this would result in increased postage charges if cards were to be posted individually from U.S.A. to European and some other subscribers.

Prof. Velghe offered the assistance of the Royal Observatory of Belgium in acting as a distribution centre for the dispatch of cards printed in U.S.A.

Prof. Whipple said that initially Dr O. Gingerich could act as Director of the Central Bureau and in this capacity should visit Copenhagen Observatory to discuss details of any transfer.

Mr Thernöe expressed his willingness to give every assistance in effecting a smooth and speedy transfer.

The Commission resolved as follows:

1. This Commission notes with great regret that the outstanding work of the Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams can no longer be continued at Copenhagen Observatory. It welcomes a proposal that the arrangements for the continuation of the service be undertaken by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.

2. The name of Dr O. Gingerich is proposed as acting Director of the Bureau.

3. The Commission expresses its deep appreciation of the devoted work of Mr K. A. Thernöe as Director of the Central Bureau over the past four years.

Mr Thernöe stressed the necessity for adapting the code for Ephemeris Time. He reported a suggestion from Prof. Hirose that the standard equinox of 19500 be used.

Prof. Buchar laid before the Commission a proposal for a new code prepared by M. Antal for communicating observations.

It was agreed to constitute a Working Group consisting of K. A. Thernöe, A. G. Velghe, O. Gingerich (with power to co-opt) to draw up proposals for an appropriate code.