MRS reports election results for 2015

www.mrs.org/governance

Members of the Materials Research Society have elected a vice president (who will serve as president in 2016) and five directors to join the 2015 MRS Board of Directors. The Board is composed of the officers and 12 to 21 directors, established by Board resolution.

The officers of the Society are the president (who serves as chair of the Board), the vice president (who is also the president-elect), the secretary, the treas-urer (a position appointed by the Board of Directors), and the immediate past president. Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended September 19, 2014.

The Board of Directors is organized into the following governing committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational Oversight, and Planning. Chairs and Members of the committees are either designated by policy or are appointed by the president.

2015 MRS Officers

President Oliver Kraft Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Immediate Past President Tia Benson Tolle The Boeing Company

Vice President (President-Elect) *Kristi Anseth University of Colorado Boulder

Secretary Sean J. Hearne Sandia National Laboratories

Treasurer Michael R. Fitzsimmons Los Alamos National Laboratory

Executive Director Todd M. Osman Materials Research Society

2015 Board of Directors

*Charles T. Black (2017) Brookhaven National Laboratory

Alexandra Boltasseva (2016) Purdue University

C. Jeffrey Brinker (2016) Sandia National Laboratories and University of New Mexico **David Cahen (2015)** Weizmann Institute of Science

Stephen J. Eglash (2015) Stanford University

Sossina M. Haile (2015) California Institute of Technology

Andrea M. Hodge (2015) University of Southern California

Hideo Hosono (2016) Tokyo Institute of Technology

*Karen L. Kavanagh (2017) Simon Fraser University

Fiona C. Meldrum (2015) University of Leeds

Kornelius Nielsch (2016) University of Hamburg

*Christine Ortiz (2017) Massachusetts Institute of Technology

*Sabrina Sartori (2017) University of Oslo

Eric A. Stach (2015) Brookhaven National Laboratory

Loucas Tsakalakos (2016) General Electric–Global Research Center

*Anke Weidenkaff (2017) University of Stuttgart

19th International Conference on Microscopy of Semiconducting Materials http://msm2015.iopconfs.org

The Institute of Physics (IoP) biannual conference series "Microscopy of Semiconducting Materials" (MSM-XIX) will be held March 29–April 2, 2015, at Murray Edwards College, University of Cambridge, UK. The conference has a long tradition of focusing on the most recent advances in the study of the structural and electronic properties of semiconducting materials by the application of transmission and scanning electron microscopy. The latest developments in the use of other important micro-characterization techniques, including scanning probe microscopy and x-ray topography and diffraction, will also be featured. Developments in materials science and technology covering the complete range of elemental and compound semiconductors and nanostructures thereof will be described.

The conference is organized by the Electron Microscopy and Analysis Group, which includes members from physics, materials science, chemistry, and engineering disciplines.

Some of the symposium topics include analytical electron microscopy,

cathodoluminescence, lattice defects in bulk materials, thin films, and scanning electron and ion-beam techniques.

Contributions for oral or poster presentations should be submitted online by December 29, 2014. There is an early registration deadline of February 25, 2015. The proceedings of the conference will be published in special issues of scientific journals. More information can be accessed at the meeting website at http:// msm2015.iopconfs.org.