THE JOURNAL OF

THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

(SERIES A)—VOLUME XXVI—PART 3

NOVEMBER 1978

E. F. ECKLUND, JR., R. B. EGGLETON, P. ERDÖS and J. L. SELFRIDGE	On the prime factorization of binomial coefficients	257
B. A. F. WEHRFRITZ	On the Lie-Kolchin-Mal'cev theorem	270
K. A. MACKENZIE	Rigid cohomology of topological groupoids .	277
J. R. GILES	Strong differentiability of the norm and rotundity of the dual	302
J. E. Drummond	On reducing to zero the remainder of an asymptotic series	309
PETER J. CAMERON	On doubly transitive permutation groups of degree prime squared plus one	317
R. P. SULLIVAN	Semigroup endomorphisms of rings	319
HIROSHI ONOSE	Oscillation of a functional differential equation arising from an industrial problem	323
V. A. HIREMATH	Finitely projective modules over a Dedekind domain	330
PHILIP OLIN	Aleph-zero categorical Stone algebras	337
F. HOUSSAIN and R. T. WORLEY	Positive points in polar lattices	348
Keith Chidzey	The relationship between fixing subgraphs and smoothly embeddable subgraphs	353
SHEILA OATES MACDONALD and M. R. VAUGHAN-LEE	Varieties that make one Cross	368
MARCEL HERZOG and CHERYL E. PRAEGER	On the fixed points of Sylow subgroups of transitive permutation groups: corrigendum.	383

Printed and Published for THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

by John Wright and Sons Ltd, Bristol, England

THE JOURNAL

The Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society began publication in 1959, and from 1975 has appeared in two series, Series A (Pure Mathematics) and Series B (Applied Mathematics). Information about Series B may be found on the inside back cover.

Series A, Pure Mathematics

Two volumes of four parts each are published annually, at a price of A\$44 per volume in 1979. Authors submitting papers for publication should send two copies of the typescript, each containing an abstract and a subject classification (Amer. Math. Soc. (MOS) 1970), to the Editor or to an appropriate Associate Editor. Authors are asked to follow the instructions in the American Mathematical Society publication A manual for authors of mathematical papers, except as indicated on the back cover of this issue.

Editor of the Journal, Series A

J. B. Miller, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

Associate Editors

Gavin Brown—harmonic analysis, Department of Mathematics, University of New South Wales, P.O. Box 1, Kensington, N.S.W. 2033

J. H. Coates—number theory, Department of Mathematics, RSPS, Australian Nattional University, P.O. Box 4, Canberra, A.C.T. 2600

J. N. Crossley—logic Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

T. E. Hall—semigroups, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

H. Lausch—groups, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168 R. Lidl—algebra, Department of Mathematics, University of Tasmania, Box 252C, G.P.O., Hobart, Tasmania 7001

G. R. Morris—differential equations,
Department of Mathematics,
University of New England,
Armidale, N.S.W. 2351

A. P. Robertson—functional analysis, School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Murdoch University, Murdoch, W.A. 6153

J. H. Rubinstein—topology, Department of Mathematics, University of Melbourne, Parkville, Victoria 3052

R. H. Street—categories, School of Mathematics & Physics, Macquarie University, North Ryde, N.S.W. 2113 E. Strzelecki—analysis, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

D. E. Taylor—algebra, Department of Pure Mathematics, University of Sydney, Sydney, N.S.W. 2006

R. Tweedie—probability and statistics, Division of Mathematics and Statistics, CSIRO, P.O. Box 1965, Canberra City, A.C.T. 2601

J. Virsik—differential geometry, Department of Mathematics, Monash University, Clayton, Victoria 3168

W. Wallis—combinatorics, Department of Mathematics, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, N.S.W. 2308

Assistant Editors

E. V. Dudley, 28 Burdekin St, Duffy, A.C.T. 2611 P. J. Stacey,
Department of Mathematics,
La Trobe University,
Bundoora, Victoria 3083

Correspondence concerning the printing of papers after their acceptance for publication should be addressed to P. J. Stacey.