Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 12 winners in the national competition for the 1974-75 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners — seven political scientists and five journalists — will come to the Nation's Capital for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The program is financed by foundation grants to the Association and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process. Other participants in the 1974-75 Congressional Fellowship Program, Asian Fellows, Harkness Fellows, and Federal Service Fellows, will be named later in the year.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a three-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about December 15, 1974. The Program ends August 15, 1975.

The 12 winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

Political Scientists

Lawrence C. Dodd, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Texas at Austin.

John W. Ellwood, Assistant Professor of Political Science, State University of New York College at Fredonia.

Michael S. Lyons, Lecturer, University of California, Santa Barbara.

Bruce I. Oppenheimer, Assistant Professor of Politics, Brandeis University.

Roger B. Porter, Ph.D. Candidate, Harvard University.

Catherine E. Rudder, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Georgia.

Marcia L. Whicker, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Kentucky.

Journalists

John M. Baer, Editorial Staff Writer, Patriot-News Company.

Alan F. Gordon, Associate Editor, Editorial Page, the *Patriot Ledger*.

Rochelle Jones, Reporter, Palm Beach Post.

Kathleen A. Moloney, General Assignment Reporter, the *Jersey Journal*.

Maureen L. Santini, Reporter, The Wisconsin State Journal.

Black Graduate Fellowships

The Association has announced 26 winners in the competition for the 1974-75 Black Graduate Fellowships in Political Science.

The winners include six fellows to receive scholarships of \$3,600 for the academic year 1974-75 to attend the university of their choice and twenty non-funded fellows. The nonfunded fellows have been recommended to graduate departments of political science as deserving of consideration for fellowships or other financial assistance.

The selections were made by the Committee on Fellowships of the Committee on the Status of Blacks composed of Robert Martin, Howard University, Chairman; Marguerite Barnett, Princeton University; Herbert Sapp, Miles College; and Nathaniel Tillman.

Funded Fellows

Gwendolyn R. Broughton, Spelman College Darryl M. Burrows, Harvard College Augustus J. Jones, Jr., Clark College Jimmy Lee Miller, Berea College Richard W. Roberts, Vassar College Nellie J. Sindab, Hunter College

Non-Funded Fellows (Alternates)
Emmette W. Robinson, Oberlin College
Doris Wright, Hunter College
Elaine Reed, Hunter College
Embra K. Jackson, Tougaloo College

Non-Funded Fellows

James H. Ammons, Florida A & M College Cellerino C. Bernardino, Villanova University Norman L. Carter, Pitzer College Thomas Coley, Moorehead State College Lee A. Gates, University of Nevada Jerry N. Gross, Roosevelt University Jeffrey L. Harris, University of Minnesota Adoria A. Johnson, Bishop College Francis M. Kilonzo, Dominican College Michael J. Papin, California State University, Northridge

Clarence T. Ross, Jr., Kalamazoo College Jimmy Smith, Tennessee State University Kathandra D. Smith, University of Tennessee Kathie R. Stromile, Southern University Norma J. Sutton, Loyola University Saundra A. Washington, Boston University

Lowi Election to the Council

In the winter *PS* the vote for Theodore J. Lowi to the APSA Council was incorrectly listed as 2,424. It should have read, 4,424. *PS* regrets the error.

APSA Committees

The following is a list of Association Committees with members who have been appointed by Presidents of the Association with the consent of the Council. Members of the Association are invited to correspond with the Chairperson of any Committee concerning subjects with which his or her Committee is dealing.