British Journal of Political Science

VOLUME 53 | PART 2 | APRIL 2023











British Journal of Political Science

Editors: CRISTINA BODEA, Michigan State University, USA

PAUL BOU-HABIB, University of Essex, UK

SHAUN BOWLER, University of California, Riverside, USA

TOBIAS BÖHMELT, University of Essex, UK

RUTH DASSONNEVILLE, Université de Montréal, Canada

LUCAS LEEMANN, University of Zürich, Switzerland (Lead Editor)

RENÉ LINDSTÄDT, University of Birmingham, UK PETRA SCHLEITER, University of Oxford, UK

Journal Administrator: JAYNE DALDRY

Editorial Board

TARIK ABOU-CHADI, Oxford University JAMES ADAMS, University of California, Davis JAMES ALT, Harvard University LUCY BARNES, University College London Anna Bassi, University of North Carolina THOMAS BERNAUER, ETH Zürich ANTHONY BERTELLI, Penn State University SARAH BIRCH, King's College London VINCENZO BOVE, University of Warwick ALEX BRAITHWAITE, University of Arizona SARAH BROOKS, Ohio State University RANDALL CALVERT, Washington University, St Louis XUN CAO, Penn State University HAN DORUSSEN, University of Essex JENNIFER GANDHI, Yale University JOHN GERRING, Boston University KRISTIAN SKREDE GLEDITSCH, University of Essex

ROBERT E. GOODIN, Australian National University CHRISTOFFER GREEN-PEDERSEN, Aarhus University ARTHUR SPIRLING, New York University JAE HEE JUNG, University of Oxford SIMON HIX, European University Institute SARA HOBOLT, London School of

Economics and Political Science WILL JENNINGS, University of Southampton PETER JOHN, King's College London

ANTHONY KING, (Founding Editor) in memoriam

THOMAS KÖNIG, University of Mannheim TODD LANDMAN, University of Nottingham MICHAEL LAVER, New York University PATRICK LE GALÈS, Sciences Po Paris GAIL McElroy, Trinity College, Dublin HELEN MILNER, Princeton University DIANA Z O'BRIEN, Washington University, St Louis AVIA PASTERNAK, University College London PIA RAFFLER, Harvard University NITA RUDRA, Georgetown University DAVID SANDERS, University of Essex GERALD SCHNEIDER, University of Konstanz KENNETH SHEPSLE, Harvard University JON SLAPIN, University of Zurich DUNCAN SNIDAL, University of Oxford

DESMOND KING, University of Oxford

ZEYNEP SOMER-TOPCU, University of Texas, Austin GABRIELE SPILKER, Universität Konstanz

DAVID STASAVAGE, New York University MILAN SVOLIK, Yale University

MARGIT TAVITS, Washington University, St Louis INGRID VAN BIEZEN, Leiden University

HUGH WARD, University of Essex ALBERT WEALE, University College London JESSICA WEEKS, University of Wisconsin, Madison

EDITORIAL POLICY

The British Journal of Political Science is an independent journal, whose policy is set by its editorial board. It is committed to no methodological orthodoxy over and above the normal canons of scholarship: clear and consistent use of words, logical and mathematical validity, and the use of appropriate evidence to substantiate empirical statements. Contributions are invited in all fields of political science and political theory, except the history of political thought. Innovative and authoritative work addressed to problems of general significance to students of politics will be published whatever the period(s) or place(s) drawn upon for evidence. The Editors reserve the right to decline articles if, according to their own judgement, they are inconsistent with editorial policy.

British Journal of Political Science and all other Cambridge journals can be found at: journals.cambridge.org.

© Cambridge University Press & Assessment 2023 Printed and bound by CPI Group (UK) Ltd, Croydon, CR0 4YY.

This journal issue has been printed on FSCTM-certified paper and cover board. FSC is an independent, nongovernmental, not-for-profit organization established to promote the responsible management of the world's forests. Please see www.fsc.org for information.