RAIRO-Theor. Inf. Appl. 46 (2012) 201–201 DOI: 10.1051/ita/2012008

Foreword ICTCS 2010 special issue

The Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science (ICTCS) is the conference of the Italian chapter of EATCS. The first ICTCS was held in Pisa in 1972. The 12th ICTCS (ICTCS 2010) took place in Camerino, 15–17 September, 2010.

The aim of ICTCS 2010 was to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas among researchers, and to foster an environment, where junior researchers and PhD students could gain experience in presenting their work, broaden their views on the subject, and benefit from contact with more established researchers.

Any area of Theoretical Computer Science was welcome. The contributions were: original works, that the authors wanted to submit to a post-conference special issue; original works submitted or accepted elsewhere, that the authors wanted to publicize at ICTCS; or works in progress, on which the authors wanted to get feedback. The program included:

- 3 invited talks by Marco Bernardo (Urbino), Stefano Crespi Reghizzi (Milan), Rossella Petreschi (Rome);
- 2 presentations by Pietro Sala and Blerina Sinaimeri, winners of the award for the Best Italian Ph.D. theses in Theoretical Computer Science;
- 34 talks selected by the Committee among 38 submissions.

Invitations to submit for the special issue were sent in October 2010 to 8 of the 16 ICTCS submissions that attached to the extended abstract a preliminary draft of the journal submission. By December 2010 the Committee received the 8 journal submissions, which went through a regular review process. At the end 5 papers were accepted for publication in the special issue.

The Committee would like to thank:

- the university of Camerino for hosting ICTCS 2010 in a wonderful setting, and providing logistic and financial support;
- the participants, in particular invited speakers and authors;
- the Editors-in-Chief of Theoretical Informatics and Applications for accepting to publish this special issue;
- the anonymous referees, who were involved in the review process.

The Organizing and Scientific Committee

Marcella Anselmo (Univ. di Salerno) Tiziana Calamoneri (Univ. di Roma La Sapienza) Flavio Corradini (Univ. di Camerino) Emanuela Merelli (Univ. di Camerino) Eugenio Moggi (Univ. di Genova)

Eugenio Moggi

Article published by EDP Sciences

© EDP Sciences 2012