Association News

Congressional Fellowship Program

The Association has announced 17 winners in the national competition for the 1970-71 Congressional Fellowship Program.

The winners—nine political scientists and eight journalists—will come to the Nation's Capitol for a year of full-time work in the offices of Senators and Members of the House of Representatives.

Each winner will receive a minimum stipend of \$6,500 for the year. The Program is financed by a Ford Foundation grant, and services of the Fellows are free of charge to the Congressional offices in which they work.

Sponsored by the Association since 1953, the purpose of the Congressional Fellowship Program is to give outstanding young academicians and political journalists an opportunity to further their knowledge of the national legislative process.

The Congressional Fellows are scheduled to arrive here in mid-November for a six-week orientation period. They will begin working in Congressional offices of their choice about January 1, 1971. The Program ends August 15, 1971.

The 17 winners were selected on the basis of superior academic training and experience. Final selections were made by an Advisory Committee made up of top government officials, Washington newsmen, and political scientists.

Political Scientists

M. Kenneth Bowler, 27, Ph.D. candidate, University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Gerald L. Clayton, 27, Ph.D. candidate, University of California, Berkeley.

Lynn E. Davis, Ph.D. candidate, Columbia University.

Vernon M. Goetchus, 28, Assistant Professor of Government, Columbia University.

Robert L. Healy, 25, Ph.D. candidate, University of Pittsburgh.

Karl T. Kurtz, 24, Ph.D. candidate, Washington University (St. Louis).

John C. Pierce, 26, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Tulane University.

Rudolph R. Rousseau, Jr., 23, Ph.D. candidate, The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.

Lisa J. Walker, 24, Ph.D. candidate, University of Rochester.

Journalists

Douglas M. Bloomfield, 28, Reporter, *Cleveland Plain Dealer.*

Anne Getz, 28, Reporter, The Detroit News.

Charles C. Hines, 24, Bureau Manager, *United Press International*, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Samuel C. Martino, 31, Wisconsin State Capitol Bureau Chief, *Minneapolis Tribune*.

Joseph H. Nicholson, Jr., 26, Reporter, Associated Press, New York City.

Stephen E. Ponder, 27, Reporter and Editor, *United Press-International*, Detroit.

Edward J. Walsh, 38, Reporter, *The Houston Chronicle*.

Timothy J. Wyngaard, 28, Statehouse Reporter, *Green Bay (Wisc.) Press Gazette.*

Cumulative Index Published

An updated edition of the *Cumulative Index to the American Political Science Review* has been published by the Association in cooperation with University Microfilms. The index was edited and the program designed by Kenneth Janda, Northwestern University, based on the previous edition which he edited in 1964. The new index covers Volumes 1 to 62 of the *Review*, for the years 1906–1968. The index is a KWIC index, "keyword in context," which has been redesigned to give the user all the information he needs to find an article in "one stop." Assisting Janda in the publication were Donald Dillaman, Richard R. Greenfield and Jeffrey Krend, all students at Northwestern.

Price for the index is \$6.50, a relatively low price due to the cooperative efforts of Professor Janda and his assistants, University Microfilms and the Association. For copies, send \$6.50 to University Microfilms, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106. Members at educational institutions are urged to remind their libraries to order the *Cumulative Index*,