INTER DIVISION WORKING GROUP: Ap AND RELATED STARS

(GROUPE DE TRAVAIL SUR LES ETOILES PARTICULIERES DE TYPE A)

CHAIRMAN: W. W. Weiss
ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: S. Bagnulo, R.O. Gray, D. Kurtz,
M. Landolfi, F. LeBlanc, T.A. Ryabchikova, B. Smalley, K. Stepien, J.
Zverko

1. Business

A meeting of the IAU Working Group on Ap & Related Stars (WGARS) was held in Sydney on July 16th. The focus of the business session concentrated on possible effects on our WG due to plans for restructuring the IAU. Working Groups are to be evaluated every 3 years and in general, will be limited to a period of 3 or 6 years.

Thanks to the very efficient WG Newsletter¹, it was felt that the scientific activities of the community and the communication between the members does not depend much on the existence of an IAU-WG. However, if it comes to raising funds for a conference, a workshop or any activities requiring contacts to governmental or other administrative bodies, it certainly is advantageous to have an international organization as a background.

Consequently, it was requested that the Working Group on Ap and Related Stars (WGARS) be promoted from a Commission WG (presently of Commission 45 - Stellar Classification) to the Division level. In one of its last sessions in Sydney, the IAU Executive Committee granted this request and decided that our WG will be now hosted by two Divisions, Division IV (Stars) and Division V (Variable Stars). The very positive attitude of the IAU Executive Committee towards our WG is also reflected by granting Symposium status to the upcoming conference in Poprad (High Tatras, Slovakia, from July 8 to 13, 2004) with the title "The A-Star Puzzle" (IAU Symposium 224, see www.ta3.sk/iau224).

It was unanimously approved by the WG members who attended the session to ask the current WG SOC to continue its responsibilities during the transition phase. The next election of SOC members at the General Assembly 2006 in Prague will have to replace a significant fraction of the current SOC. The WG members also thanked the present editors of "A Peculiar Newsletter", S. Bagnulo and G. Wade, for their highly appreciated and important service for the community.

2. Scientific session

The WG session was concluded in a scientific session followed by a vivid discussion.

¹ www.astro.uwo.ca/apn or www.eso.org/apn

- Chris Corbally & Richard Gray: Does "Location, Location, Location" Matter for A Boötis Stars?
- Gautier Mathys: Enhanced pulsation diagnosis in roAp stars with resolved magnetically split lines
- \bullet Don Kurtz: New heights in a steroseismology - VLT spectroscopy of the roAp star HD 166473
- Werner W. Weiss, O. Kochukhov, T. Ryabchikova, M. Sachkov, J.D. Landstreet, P. Reegen: Detailed analysis of the pulsational velocity field in roAp stars 'Y Equ and HR 1217

3. Previous SOC

For preparing the election of new SOC members at the next General Assembly, 2006, it was requested to compile a list of former members for the Scientific Organizing Committee of the Working Group.

- GA Sydney 2003: W.W. Weiss (chair), S. Bagnulo, R.O. Gray, D. Kurtz, M. Landolfi, F. LeBlanc, T. Ryabchikova, B. Smalley, K. Stepien, J. Zverko. Editors of A Peculiar Newsletter: S. Bagnulo & G. Wade
- GA Manchester 2000: W.W. Weiss (chair), S. Bagnulo, R.O. Gray, D. Kurtz, M. Landolfi, F. LeBlanc, T. Ryabchikova, B. Smalley, K. Stepien, J. Zverko. Editors of A Peculiar Newsletter: S. Bagnulo & G. Wade
- GA Kyoto 1997: M. Takada-Hidai (chair), G. Alecian, R.O.. Gray, M. Landolfi,
 J. Matthews, P. North, K. Stepien, W.W. Weiss, J. Zverko.
 Editor of A Peculiar Newsletter: P. North.
- GA The Hague 1994: W. Wehlau (chair), C. Alecian, R.O.. Gray, G. Mathys, P. North, M. Takada-Hidai, J. Zverko.
 Editor of A Peculiar Newsletter: P. North who revitalized the Newsletter.
- GA Buenos Aires 1991: M. Gerbaldi (chair), S. Ansari, V. Khoklova, D. Leckrone,
 G. Mathys, G. Michaud, K. Sadakane.
 Editor of A Peculiar Newsletter: H. Henberge et al. till issue No. 21, for issue
 No. 22: S. Ansari, and no Newsletters afterwards till 1994.
- GA Baltimore 1988: K. Sadakane (chair), L Hubeny, D.W. Kurtz, T. Lanz, G.J. Michaud.
 Editor of A Peculiar Newsletter: H. Hensberge, W. van Rensbergen (some issues also with R. Blomme)
- GA Delhi 1985: C.R Cowley (chair), B. Hauck, M. Jaschek, J. Jugaku, V. Khoklova, D.W. Kurtz, G.J. Michaud.
 Editor of A Peculiar Newsletter: H. Hensberge, W. van Rensbergen.
- GA Patras 1982: C.R Cowley (chair). The SOC membership is not reported in the IAU Transactions. The WG joined the European Ap-WG in editing A *Peculiar Newsletter*² with H. Hensberge and W. van Rensbergen as editors.

²The Peculiar Newsletter was founded 1978 in Vienna as communication tool for the European Ap-WG. The first editors were H. Hensberge, Gh. Deridder and W. van Rensbergen who all stayed on this duty until early 1992, except of Deridder who left the team mid 1983.

• GA Montral 1979: The WG was formed in 1979 jointly with Commissions 29, 36, and 45, with the latter Commission acting as host. The SOC members and chairperson are not reported in the IAU Transactions.

Werner W. Weiss Chairperson of the Working Group