MRS reports election results for 2016

www.mrs.org/governance

Members of the Materials Research Society (MRS) have elected a vice president (who will serve as president in 2017) and five directors to join the 2016 MRS Board of Directors. In addition, the MRS Board of Directors has appointed the next MRS Treasurer. The Board is composed of the officers and 12 to 21 directors, established by Board resolution.

The officers of the Society are the president (who serves as chair of the Board), the vice president (who is also the president-elect), the secretary, the treasurer (a position appointed by the Board of Directors), and the immediate past president. Terms of office expire at the end of the year indicated in parentheses. The asterisk (*) designates those who are newly elected. The annual election ended August 24, 2015.

The Board of Directors is organized into the following governing committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational Oversight, and Planning. Chairs and Members of the committees are either designated by policy or are appointed by the president.

2016 MRS Officers

President Kristi S. Anseth University of Colorado Boulder

Immediate Past President Oliver Kraft

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Vice President (President-Elect) * Susan Trolier-McKinstry The Pennsylvania State University

Secretary Sean J. Hearne Sandia National Laboratories

Treasurer * David J. Parrillo The Dow Chemical Company

Executive Director Todd M. Osman Materials Research Society

2016 Board of Directors

Charles T. Black (2017) Brookhaven National Laboratory

Alexandra Boltasseva (2016) Purdue University

C. Jeffrey Brinker (2016) Sandia National Laboratories and The University of New Mexico * Matthew Copel (2018) IBM

- * Paul S. Drzaic (2018) Apple, Inc.
- * Yury Gogotsi (2018) Drexel University

Hideo Hosono (2016) Tokyo Institute of Technology

* Young-Chang Joo (2018) Seoul National University

Karen L. Kavanagh (2017) Simon Fraser University

Kornelius Nielsch (2016) Leibniz Institute of Solid State and Materials Research

Christine Ortiz (2017) Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Sabrina Sartori (2017) University of Oslo

* Magaly Spector (2018) The University of Texas at Dallas

Loucas Tsakalakos (2016) General Electric–Global Research Center

Anke Weidenkaff (2017) University of Stuttgart

2016 SIAM Conference on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science to be held May 8–12 in the United States www.siam.org/meetings/ms16

The 2016 Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Conference on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science will be held May 8–12, in Philadelphia, Pa. It is sponsored by the SIAM Activity Group on Mathematical Aspects of Materials Science. The organizing committee co-chairs are Peter Smereka of the University of Michigan and David Srolovitz of the University of Pennsylvania.

This conference focuses on interdisciplinary approaches that bridge mathematical and computational methods to the science and engineering of materials, including all electronic structure, atomistic simulation, microstructures, continuum descriptions, thermodynamics, kinetics, analytical methods, stochastic methods, and computational methods, as well as approaches and questions that are arising within the Materials Genome.

Invited plenary speakers are Kaushik Bhattacharya of the California Institute of Technology, USA; Vasily Bulatov of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA; Gábor Csányi of the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom; Mikko Haataja of Princeton University, USA; David Kinderlehrer of Carnegie Mellon University, USA; Carl Krill III of Universität Ulm, Germany; Erica Lilleodden of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Germany; John Lowengrub of the University of California–Irvine, USA; Ping-Bing Ming of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China; Felix Otto of the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Germany; Christof Schütte of Freie Universität Berlin, Germany; Reidun Twarock of the University of York, United Kingdom; and Xiao-Ping Wang of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China.

The submission deadline for contributed lectures, posters, and minisymposium presentation abstracts is December 15. The travel fund application deadline for students and postdocs is December 4. Pre-registration ends April 11, 2016. For more information, go to www.siam.org/meetings/ms16.