Agricultural and Resource Economics Review



The official publication of the Northeastern Agricultural and Resource Economics Association (NAREA)



AGRICULTURAL AND RESOURCE ECONOMICS REVIEW

Volume 49 / Number 2 August 2020

Special Issue

Environmental Regulation and Innovation in Local Communities

| Foreword • Donna Ramirez Harrington and Martin Heintzelman |
|--|
| Local Environmental Policy in a Federal System: An Overview <i>• Kathleen Segerson</i> |
| Optimal Budget Allocations for Protected Area Acquisition To Store Carbon in a Local Community Under Economic Growth Uncertainty <i>Bijay P. Sharma, Seong-Hoon Cho, and Chad M. Hellwinckel</i> 209 |
| Improving BMP Cost-Share Enrollment Rates: Insights from a Survey of Florida Farmers <i>- Lauriane S. Yehouenou, Kelly A. Grogan,</i> <i>Xiang Bi, and Tatiana Borisova</i> |
| Knowledge Spillover and Positive Environmental Externality in Agricultural Decision Making under Performance-Based Payment Programs <i>Hongxing Liu and Christopher S. Ruebeck</i> |
| Effectiveness of Public versus Private Ownership: Violations of the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) <i>Guanlong Fu, Pengfei Liu, and Stephen K. Swallow</i> |
| Non-Constant Elasticity of Substitution and Intermittent Renewable Energy • Saketh Aleti and Gal Hochman |
| Promoting Clean Energy Innovation at the State and Local Level - David Popp |

AGRICULTURAL AND RESOURCE ECONOMICS REVIEW

Volume 49 / Number 2 • August 2020

EDITORS FOR THIS SPECIAL ISSUE

Donna Ramirez Harrington, University of Vermont AND Martin Heintzelman, University of Delaware

EDITORIAL BOARD

Amy Ando University of Illinois – United States

> Toshi Arimura Waseda University – Japan

Junfei Bai China Agricultural University – China

Marc Bellemare University of Minnesota – United States

Derek Brewin University of Manitoba – Canada

Jeremy Clark University of Canterbury – New Zealand

Cornelis Gardebroek Wageningen University – Netherlands

Stephen Goetz Penn State University – United States

Shreekant Gupta Delhi School of Economics – India

John Hoddinott Cornell University – United States

Harry Kaiser Cornell University – United States

> Shunsuke Managi Kyushu University – Japan

Matin Qaim University of Göttingen – Germany

Kimberly Rollins University of Nevada, Reno – United States

James Shortle Penn State University – United States

Diogo Souza Montiero Newcastle University – United Kingdom

Jordan Suter Colorado State University – United States

Patrick Walsh Landcare Research – New Zealand

Xiaohua Yu University of Göttingen – Germany

MANAGING EDITOR

Hung-Hao Chang National Taiwan University – Taiwan

EDITORS

Shana McDermott Trinity University

Richard T. (Max) Melstrom Loyola University Chicago

HISTORIAN

John Halstead University of New Hampshire – United States

WEBMASTER

Richard Vyn University of Guelph

Association Officers

PRESIDENT Gal Hochman Rutgers University – United States PRESIDENT-ELECT David Abler Penn State University PAST PRESIDENT David Just Cornell University – United States SECRETARY Chiyi Lyi (Kathleen) Liang North Carolina A&T University – United States CO-SECRETARY Shana McDermott Trinity University TREASURER Farhed Shah University of Connecticut – United States

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Sarah Cline Department of the Interior Director 2016–2019 Jennifer Ifft

Cornell University Director 2017–2020

Todd Guilfoos University of Rhode Island Director 2017–2020

Christine Crago University of Massachusetts Director 2018–2021 Caroline Noblet University of Maine Director 2018–2021 Jeffrey O'Hara US Department of Agriculture Government Representative Elena Besedin Abt Associates Industry Representative Steven Otto Cornell University 2019 Graduate Student Representative