THE JOURNAL OF Navigation

VOLUME 66 NUMBER 4 JULY 2013





THE ROYAL INSTITUTE OF NAVIGATION

Patron

HRH THE PRINCE PHILIP DUKE OF EDINBURGH, KG, KT, OM

OFFICERS AND COUNCIL 2012-2013

Wg Cdr J. W. Lindsay

President C. M. D. Beatty
Vice Presidents R. A. McKinlay
Prof. A. P. Norris
Honorary Treasurer D. Cockburn
Chairman of the Technical Committee Dr. S. Basker

Chairman of the Iechnical Committee Dr. S. Basi Chairman of the Membership

& Fellowship Committee

Other Members of Council
I. C. Benham Prof. T Moore
Lt., Cdr., A, Egelend-Jensen R, D, Pike

Lt. Cdr. A. Egelend-Jensen R. D. Pike
Dr. R. Filjar Capt. J. B. Taylor obe

S. E. Gaskin Ms M. M. G. M. von Wendland

Dr N. D. Hughes OBE Capt R. J. Wild

Director Capt P. C. Chapman-Andrews, LVO MBE

THE JOURNAL OF NAVIGATION

Editor-in-Chief Nick Randall MSc FRIN

Editor Tony Fyler

Associate Editors

Doctorr Ramsey Faragher CPhys MRIN MION Assoc. Prof. Renato Filjar PhD, FRIN Professor Peter J.Hore MA, DPhil Professor Izzet Kale

Assoc. Prof. Margareta Lützhöft PhD, MNI, MRIN
Doctor Xiaolin Meng MRIN
Doctor Wolfgang Schuster

Professor P.J.G. Teunissen
Assoc. Prof. Jinling Wang FRIN, FIAG
Professor Adam Weintrit FRIN, FNI

Editorial Board. The Editorial Board (for administrative matters) consists of the members of the Royal Institute of Navigation's Technical Committee.

Editorial Advisory Board. The Chairman of the Editorial Advisory Board (for academic matters) is the Royal Institute of Navigation Director (Capt P. C. Chapman-Andrews, LVO MBE), the Secretary is the Journal Editor-in-Chief (Nick Randall MSc FRIN) and it consists of the following members:

| consists of the following members: | | | |
|------------------------------------|---------------------------------|------------------------------|------------------------------|
| Name | (Affiliation, Region) | Name | (Affiliation, Region) |
| Professor S. Akesson | (Lund, Sweden) | Professor S. Mills | (Staffordshire, UK) |
| Professor C. Allen | (Washington, USA) | Professor T. Moore | (Nottingham, UK) |
| Professor V. Ashkenazi | (NSL, UK) | Professor P. Newman | (Oxford, UK) |
| Professor V. A. Braithwaite | | Professor A. Norris | (Consultant, UK) |
| Professor A. Dodson | (Nottingham, UK) | Professor W. Ochieng | (Imperial College, UK) |
| Doctor A. V. Dunaev | (JSC 'RSS', Russia) | Professor P. Oonincx | (Defence, Netherlands) |
| Doctor A. El-Mowafy | (Curtin, Australia) | Professor M. Pawlowski | |
| Professor A. El-Rabbany | (Ryerson, Canada) | Professor M. Pourzanjani | |
| Professor N. El-Sheimy | (Calgary, Canada) | Professor T. Ritz | (California, USA) |
| Doctor R. Filjar | (Rijeka, Croatia) | Doctor W. Schuster | (Imperial College, UK) |
| Doctor M. George | (Pacific Traditions, USA) | Professor Sir M. N. Sweeting | (SSTL, UK) |
| Professor D. Grejner-Brzezinska | (Ohio State, USA) | Professor P. J. G. Teunissen | (Curtin, Australia) |
| Doctor C. Hegarty | (MITRE, USA) | Professor G. Trommer | (Karlsruhe, Germany) |
| Professor D-J. Jwo | (National Taiwan Ocean, Taiwan) | Doctor M. Unwin | (SSTL, UK) |
| Professor I. Kale | (Westminster, UK) | Professor P.Vörsmann | |
| Doctor A. Kealy | (Melbourne, Australia) | Professor C. Walcott | (Cornell, USA) |
| Professor C. Kee | (Seoul, S. Korea) | Professor M. Walker | (Auckland, New Zealand) |
| Professor Dr. S. Kos | (Rijeka, Croatia) | A/Professor J. Wang | (Sydney, Australia) |
| Professor T. Kos | (Zagreb, Croatia) | Professor A. Weintrit | (Gdynia, Poland) |
| Professor J. Kirschvink | _ | Professor J. N. Weng | (Beihang, China) |
| Professor G. Lachapelle | | Professor R. Wiltschko | (Frankfurt, Germany) |
| Professor R. B. Langley | | Professor W. Wiltschko | (Frankfurt, Germany) |
| Professor D. Last | (Consultant, UK) | Professor M. Winklhofer | |
| Professor J. N. Liu | (Wuhan, China) | Professor X. Yang | (Academy of Sciences, China) |
| Doctor S. Lo | (Stanford, USA) | Professor Y. Yang | (CNAGÁ, China) |
| Professor K. J. Lohmann | | Professor M. Ziebart | (UCL, UK) |
| Doctor G. McCall | (Los Alamos, USA) | Professor N. I. Ziedan | (Zagazig, Egypt) |
| Doctor X. Meng | (Nottingham, UK) | | |

The Journal is published six times a year by Cambridge University Press. It contains original papers contributing to the science of navigation, including those presented at the meetings of the Institute. Papers should be submitted via the link http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/nav. The Editor-in-Chief may be contacted via e-mail at journal@rin.org.uk. The current 'Instructions for Contributors' are available by e-mail. The views expressed in the Journal are not necessarily those of the Institute, or of any organization or department to which the authors may belong. Crown Copyright may be reserved. Any facts stated or opinions expressed in this Journal are the sole responsibility of the contributors. Neither the Royal Institute of Navigation, the Editor nor the Publishers can be held responsible for any injury or loss sustained in reliance thereon.

This journal is included in the Cambridge Journals Online service (http://journals. cambridge. org). For further information on other Press titles access http://www.cambridge.org

The address of the Institute is The Royal Institute of Navigation, at The Royal Geographical Society, 1 Kensington Gore, London SW7 2AT (Telephone: 020 7591 3130 Fax: 020 7591 3131), website (www.rin.org.uk) e-mail (editor@rin.org.uk).

This journal issue has been printed on FSC-certified paper and cover board. FSC is an independent, non-governmental, not-for-profit organization established to promote the responsible management of the world's forests. Please see www.fsc.org for information.