Message from the Editor

I am pleased to welcome three new members to the Editorial Board of the Journal: Harold P. Adams, J. Max Findlay, and Shashikant S. Seshia. Dr. Adams received his MD degree from Northwestern University in Chicago and took Neurology training at the University of Iowa, Iowa City. He has remained in Iowa City, where he obtained his first academic appointment and is now a Professor of Neurology and Director of the Division of Cerebrovascular Diseases. Dr. Adams is an authority on stroke and clinical trials; he has served long as a valued referee of papers submitted to this journal. Dr. Findlay is a medical graduate of the University of British Columbia who received neurosurgery residency training at the University of Toronto and a Ph.D. in Experimental Surgery at the University of Alberta. He is now an Associate Clinical Professor and Director of the Division of Neurosurgery at the University of Alberta. His academic focus is on subarachnoid hemorrhage. Dr. Seshia received the MD degree at the University of Bombay and neurological training in Bombay, the University of Glasgow, the University of Edinburgh, Queen Square in London, and the University of Manitoba. He is a Professor in the Section of Pediatric Neurosciences at the University of Manitoba and attending neurologist at the Children's Hospital in Winnipeg. Dr Seshia is an expert in electroencephalography and childhood epilepsy and headache.

Three members have completed valuable service as members of the Board, Dr. Warren Blume, Dr. Peter Camfield, and Dr. Peter Humphreys. I thank them for their contributions over the years. Dr. Warren P. Mason is our new Book Review Editor. He replaces Dr. Mary Anne Lee who has served our readers so well. Dr. Mason is a medical graduate of the University of Toronto and of its neurology residency program. After a fellowship in neuro-oncology at the Sloane Kettering Institute in New York, he returned to Toronto where he is now an Assistant Professor and attending neurologist at The Toronto Hospital.

In 1996 we published two supplements, one being the abstracts and proceedings of the Canadian Congress of Neurological Sciences, and the second was on new antiepileptic drugs. Supplements are welcomed and their contents, other than abstracts, undergo review. The Journal policy on processing of supplements is available upon request from the Publications Office. The Journal's science citation impact factor for 1994 (the most recent year for which data are available) was its highest in

the then 21 year history of publication. A conflict of interest policy statement is included in the *Information for Authors* page and authors will be required to sign a statement of conflict of interest upon acceptance of their papers. We are not aware of any undeclared conflicts in our published issues, but because of increasing commitments to research by industry, we will no doubt encounter conflicts; they must be declared.

Redundant publications are receiving increasing attention in the biomedical literature. The Journal has a policy of prohibiting redundant publications. As stated in the Information for Authors page, manuscripts are accepted for publication with the understanding that they or the essence of their content have not been published elsewhere except in abstract form and are not under simultaneous consideration by another journal. Redundant publication, or duplicate or repetitive publication, may be defined as publishing or attempting to publish substantially the same work more than once. Procedures for dealing with violation of this policy have not been officially established by the Editorial Board. Pending adoption of such procedures, authors who engage in redundant publication will not have future submissions accepted for a fixed period of time, and the editor of the other periodical or book will be notified of the violation. After a due process of investigation, a "notice of redundant publication" will be published in the Journal to be entered into the database of the National Library of Medicine in the United States, and the dean or similar official at the institution of the offending authors may be notified. These measures are in accord with recommendations of the Council of Biology Editors, Incorporated.

I take this opportunity to express my appreciation of the many individuals who share their time and expertise as referees of submitted papers. Most manuscripts are reviewed by one or more members of the Editorial Board, but their work is but a portion of the labour that others expend in serving this journal. I am also particularly indebted to our Managing Director, Sally Gregg who directs the Publications office in Calgary and is responsible for the processing of manuscripts and reviews, the Journal budget, and the preparation of each issue. The names of reviewers of manuscripts submitted in 1996 are listed on the following page.

James A. Sharpe, M.D.

Reviewers, 1996

Adams, Harold Andermann, Fred Antel, Jack Ashby, Peter Ball, M. Barnett, H.J.M. Bech-Hansen, Torbin Becker, Werner Bedard, Paul Bernstein, Mark Berry, Henry Black, Sandra Blume, Warren Bolton, Charles Bril, Vera Brown, William Buchan, Alistair Burnham, W.M. Cairncross, Gregory Camfield, Peter Caplan, Louis R. Carlen, Peter Carter, Cedric Cashman, Neil Chalk, Colin Chertkow, Howard Clark, Arthur Cochrane, Doug Consky, Earl Cooper, Paul Corbett, James J. Corenblum, Bernard Coté, Robert Darwish, H. Deck, John H.N. Del Maestro, R. Di Mauro, Salvatore Drake, James Duquette, Pierre Dyck, Peter Eisen, Andrew Ethier, Romeo Fairholm, David Farrell, Kevin Feasby, Thomas Fehlings, Michael Feldman, Eva Findlay, J. Max Fletcher, William Forsyth, Peter

Gawel, Marek J. Girvin, John Guberman, Alan Guha, Abhit Guttman, Mark Hachinski, Vladimir C. Hallett, Mark Halliday, William C. Hansebout, Robert R. Hassan, Mohamed N. Heilman, Kenneth Hill, Alan Hinton, David Hoff, Julian Holness, Renn Howse, D.C.N. Hugenholtz, Herman Humphreys, Peter Humphreys, Robin P. Hwang, Paul Jhamandas, Jack Johnston, Janine Karpati, George Kertesz, Andrew Kirk, Andrew Lang, Anthony E. Leblanc, Richard Lee, Robert G. Lownie, Stephen MacDonald, D.B. MacDonald, David R. MacMillan, Vernon H. Mackenzie, Ian Malkin, Mark Maxner, C.E. Mazurek, Michael McGeer, Patrick McLachlan, Richard S. Meloche, Jacques Metz, Luanne M. Midroni, Gyl Mikulis, David Miller, Robert W. Mohr, Gerard Morley, T.P. Moulton, Richard J. Muller, Paul Munoz, David G. Murphy, William Murray, Thomas J. Myles, S. Terence

Nag, S.

Nelson, Robert F.

Noseworthy, John H.

Norris, John W.

O'Connor, Paul Olanow, C.Warren Peerless, Sidney J. Picton, Terry Pillay, Neelan Pryse-Phillips, William Purves, Sherrill Raine, C. Rajput, A.H. Reiher, Jean Rewcastle, N. Barry Rice, G.P.A. Riopelle, Richard Robinson, Gordon Rouleau, Guy Russell, Neville A. Rutka, James Sadler, Mark Saint-Cyr, Jean A. Sarnat, Harvey B. Schmidt, Brian Schneiderman, Jacob H. Schwartz, Michael L. Seshia, S. Shapiro, Colin Shelton, Paul Shenouda, George Sherwin, A.L. Shorter, Edward Silver, Frank Smith, Alan M. Smyth, Harley Snead, Carter Souhami, Lui Steinbok, Paul Stewart, John D. Stoessl, A. Jon Stuss, Donald Sutherland, Garnette Teal, Phillip Tomlinson, R. David Tranmer, Bruce Tsui, Joseph Villemure, Jean-Guy Wall, Michael Warren, Sharon Waters, Cheryl Wennberg, Richard Willinsky, Robert A. Wong, C. Shun Yeo, Erik Zackon, David Zochodne, Douglas

Francis, Gordon

Gauthier, Serge

Freedman, Morris

Friedman, Deborah

Fuglsang-Frederiksen, A.