COMMISSION 35

STELLAR CONSTITUTION

CONSTITUTION DES ÉTOILES

PRESIDENT
VICE-PRESIDENT
PAST PRESIDENT
ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Wojciech A. Dziembowski
Francesca D'Antona
Don A. VandenBerg
Corinne Charbonnel,
Joergen Christensen-Dalsgaard,
Joyce A. Guzik, Norbert Langer,
Richard B. Larson, James W. Liebert,
Georges Meynet, Ewald Müller,
Hideyuki Saio

PROCEEDINGS BUSINESS MEETING on 16 August 2006

1. Introduction

The session was brief and quite informal as there were only six participants. The agenda included my report on organizational activities of the Commission during the 2003-2006 term and Virginia Trimble's presentation *Presence of binary stars in the current astronomical literature*. I summarize below the most important part of my report.

2. Membership

The Commission has now over 350 members. Our excellent website (http://iau-c35.stsci.edu) contains up-to-date information about the Commission activity and a number of useful links to astronomical resources of interest for the members. The site has been designed and maintained by Claus Leitherer from Space Telescope Science Institute, who deserves for that our special thanks.

3. Organizing Committee

The election of all four new members of the Organizing Committee was conducted before the General Assembly through a web poll. All the Commission members with valid e-mail addresses have been first asked to nominate candidates and then to vote for eight candidates, who received more than two nomination and agreed to stand for the election. Nearly one hundred members took part in the poll. Soon after, the present and newly elected OC members chose the next vice-president.

The resulting composition of the Organizing Committee for the 2006-2009 looks as follows: Francesca D'Antona (president, Italy), Corinne Charbonnel (vice-president, France) Gilles Fontaine (Canada), Richard B. Larson (U.S.A), John Lattanzio (Australia), James W. Liebert (U.S.A.), Ewald Müller (Germany), Achim Weiss (Germany), and Lev R. Yungelson (Russian Federation).

Of 925 new IAU members proposed by their National IAU Committees, 32 expressed their wish of joining Commission 35. Here are their names with proposing countries in the brackets: Torben Arentoft (Denmark), Sydney A. Barnes (USA), Sarbani Basu (USA), Michael Bazot (Denmark), Ignazio Bombaci (Italy), Brian C. Chaboyer (USA), Gilles Chabrier (France), Stephane Charpinet (France), Jadwiga Daszyńska-Daszkiewicz (Poland), Jean Dupuis (Canada),

Leo A. Girardi (Italy), Raphael Hirshi(Swiitzerland), Jes K. Joergensen (USA), Li Qingkang KANG (China), Matthias Liebendoerfer (Switzerland), Francois Lignieres (France), Marco Limongi (Italy), Keiichi Maeda (Japan), David A. McDavid (USA), Gijs Nelemans (the Netherlands), Joana M. Oliveira (UK), Simon J. O'Toole (Australia), Klaus M. Pontoppidan (USA), Maarten Reyniers (Belgium), Leonardo G. Sigallotti (Venezuela), Takuma Suda (Japan), Victor P. Utrobin (Russian Federation), Paolo Ventura (Italy), Jorick S. Vink (UK), Ken Yi (Republic of Korea), Takashi Yoshida (Japan), and Maxim V. Yuskin (Russian Federation).

They all have been welcomed to Commission 35.

Wojciech A. Dziembowski president of the Commission