## → Inter-American Notes →

## Awards, Fellowships & Prizes

As announced at its luncheon on January 8, 2010, in San Diego, California, the Conference on Latin American History recognized the superb achievements of the following scholars:

**The Bolton-Johnson Prize** (for Best book in English on any significant aspect of Latin American history):

Stuart Schwartz, All Can Be Saved: Religious Tolerance and Salvation in the Iberian Atlantic World (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008).

The Conference on Latin American History Prize (for most distinguished article published in a journal other than Hispanic American Historical Review or The Americas):

Robert Haskett, "Dying for Conversion: Faith, Obedience, and the Tlaxcalan Boy Martyrs in New Spain," *Colonial Latin American Review* 17:2 (December 2008), pp. 185-212.

Honorable Mention: Margaret Power, "The Engendering of Anticommunism and Fear in Chile's 1964 Presidential Election," *Diplomatic History* 32:5 (November 2008), pp. 931-953.

The Elinor Melville Prize for Latin American Environmental History (conferred annually for the best book in English, French, Spanish or Portuguese on Latin American environmental history):

Reinaldo Funes Monzote, From Rainforest to Cane Field in Cuba: An Environmental History Since 1492 (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2008).

Honorable Mention: Rosalva Loreto López, Una Vista de Ojos a una Ciudad Novohispana: La Puebla de los Angeles del Siglo XVIII (Mexico City: BUAP/CONA-CYT/INAOE, 2008). **The Warren Dean Memorial Prize** (awarded biennially to recognize work on the history of Brazil):

Brodwyn Fisher, A Poverty of Rights: Citizenship and Inequality in Twentieth Century Rio de Janiero (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2008).

**The Howard Francis Cline Memorial Prize** (conferred biennially to the book or article in English, German, or a Romance language judged to make the most significant contribution to the history of Indians in Latin America):

Yanna Yannakakis, The Art of Being In-Between: Native Intermediaries, Indian Identity, and Local Rule in Colonial Oaxaca (Durham: Duke University Press, 2008).

The James Alexander Robertson Memorial Prize (for most distinguished article in Hispanic American Historical Review):

Ezequiel Adamovsky, "Acerca de la relación entre el Radicalismo argentino y la 'clase media' (una vez más)," *Hispanic American Historical Review* 89:2 (May 2009), pp. 209-251.

The Tibesar Prize (for most distinguished article in The Americas):

Michael Gismondi and Jeremy Mouat, "La Enojosa Cuestión de Emery: The Emery Claim in Nicaragua and American Foreign Policy, c. 1888-1910," The Americas 65:3 (January 2009), pp. 375-409.

Honorable Mention: Yanna Yannakakis, "Witnesses, Spatial Practices, and a Land Dispute in Colonial Oaxaca," *The Americas* 65:2 (October 2008), pp. 161-192.

**The James R. Scobie Memorial Award** (to support exploratory research to determine the feasibility of a Ph.D. dissertation topic dealing with some facet of Latin American history):

Sarah Hines (University of California at Berkeley), "Revolution on the Altiplano: Indigenous Communities and the Bolivian Revolution, 1945-1964."

Amy Huras (University of Toronto), "Castilianization in Peru, Sixteenth through Eighteenth Centuries."

Jordan Lauhon (University of California at Davis), "The 1877 Eruption of Cotopaxi Volcano."

Ben Reed (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "The Role of Preaching in Colonial Mexico."

Lena Suk (Emory University), "Cinema, Space, and Systems of International Exchange in Brazil, 1964-1985."

The Lewis Hanke Prize (to support the transformation of a dissertation into a book):

Celso Castilho (Vanderbilt University), "Remaking Nation and Citizenship in Northeastern Brazil: The Politics of Antislavery in Pernambuco, 1866-1893."

The Lydia Cabrera Award (to support research on Cuba between 1492 and 1868):

Joanna Elrick (Vanderbilt University) and Daniel Rood (University of California, Irvine)

**Distinguished Service Award** (conferred annually upon a person whose career in scholarship, teaching, publishing, librarianship, institutional development of other fields demonstrates significant contributions to the advancement of the study of Latin American history in the United States):

Friedrich Katz (University of Chicago)

## Professional News

President Barack Obama has appointed Rolena Adorno to membership on the National Council on the Humanities, the advisory board to the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Dr. Adorno, an award-winning scholar of Colonial Spanish American literature and the nineteenth-century origins of Hispanism in the United States, is the Reuben Post Halleck Professor of Spanish and Chair of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese at Yale University. Until her appointment to the Council, Dr. Adorno had also been serving as a Senior Editor of this journal. The editors thank her for her contributions and offer their congratulations on her appointment.

## **BOOKS IN BRIEF**

In the past few years, many presses have published translations of primary sources from Latin American history. Generally intended for classroom use, these works vary greatly in utility, but do provide options for bringing the events of the past to life. Four recent contributions focus on the colonial period, three from the sixteenth century and one from the seventeenth. Perhaps the text best known to students of colonial Latin America is Bernal Díaz del Castillo's *The True History of the Conquest of New Spain*. A recent addition to the long list of editions of this work has been published by the University of New Mexico Press in 2008, edited and with an introduction by David Carrasco. Like others, this is an abridgement of the original, designed to be more accessible to readers, but this new edition differs from the start by removing the word "True" from the title. In addition, the book contains eight essays to help the reader understand the various levels of the work and the material it contains. Carrasco is the author of five of these. Other authors are Rolena Adorno, Karen Viera Powers, and Sandra Messinger Cypess. Most refreshingly, in this edition Carrasco accepts that Díaz del Castillo was not an impartial observer, detachedly