AMERICAN JOURNAL OF GERMANIC LINGUISTICS

AND

LITERATURES

Studies in Honor of Robert L. Kyes

AJGLL

Society for Germanic Philology

SOCIETY FOR GERMANIC PHILOLOGY

Officers and Executive Committee for 1999

President, Joseph C. Salmons, University of Wisconsin (through 1999) Vice-President, Anna Grotans, Ohio State University (through 2001) Secretary/Treasurer, Robert B. Howell, University of Wisconsin (through 2000)

Executive Committee, the preceding and

Barbara A. Fennell, University of Aberdeen (through 1999) John te Velde, Oklahoma State University (through 1999) Donka Minkova, University of California, Los Angeles (through 2000) Jennifer Dailey-O'Cain, University of Alberta (through 2000) Orrin W. Robinson III, Stanford University (through 2001) Elly van Gelderen, Arizona State University (through 2001)

Representing the Executive Committee of the Discussion Group for Germanic Philology, Modern Language Association of America (ex officio)

Robert D. Fulk, Indiana University (through 1999)

Chair, AJGLL Editorial Committee

Paul T. Roberge, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

The American Journal of Germanic Linguistics and Literatures is published semiannually by the Society for Germanic Philology.

Dues for personal memberships are \$30.00 per calendar year, sustaining membership \$50.00. Institutional subscriptions are \$43.00 per calendar year. Dues for student memberships (with proof of status) and emeriti are \$15.00 per year.

Applications for membership, subscriptions, change-of-address notices, as well as requests for advertising space and permission to reprint from *AJGLL* should be directed to the Secretary of the Society: Prof. Robert B. Howell, Department of German, University of Wisconsin, 818 Van Hise Hall, Madison, WI 53706, USA; e-mail: rbhowell@facstaff.wisc.edu.

Copyright © 1999 by the Society for Germanic Philology

Printed in the United States of America

ISSN: 1040-8207

The paper used in this publication meets the minimum requirements of the American National Standard for Information Sciences—Permanence of paper for Printed Library Materials.

ANSI Z39.48–1984

American Journal of GERMANIC LINGUISTICS and LITERATURES

Journal of the Society for Germanic Philology

Volume 12, Number 1

Spring 2000

Editorial Committee

Sarah M. B. Fagan, University of Iowa Robert B. Howell, University of Wisconsin–Madison Mark L. Louden, University of Wisconsin–Madison Paul T. Roberge, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Joseph C. Salmons, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Editorial Advisory Board

James Cathey, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Michael Clyne, Monash University
Edward G. Fichtner, Queens College, CUNY
Peter Jorgensen, University of Georgia
Thomas Juntune, Michigan State University
Robert L. Kyes, University of Michigan
Anatoly Liberman, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Albert Lloyd, University of Pennsylvania
Donka Minkova, University of California, Los Angeles
Dieter Nerius, Universität Rostock
Thomas F. Shannon, University of California, Berkeley
Joseph B. Voyles, University of Washington

Editorial Assistant: Kimberly Ann Miller

Published by the Society for Germanic Philology