THE History of Economics Society BULLETIN

Volume VIII, Issue 2

WINTER, 1987



The HES Bulletin is published semiannually by The History of Economics Society at Vanderbilt University

HISTORY OF ECONOMICS SOCIETY'S DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS

William Jaffee	1980
Joseph J. Spengler	1981
Joseph Dorfman	1982
Frank W. Fetter	1982
George J. Stigler	1983
Lord Robbins	1984
Terence W. Hutchison	1984
G. L. S. Shackle	1985
Friedrich A. von Havek	1985

Officers of The History of Economics Society 1986-1987

Abraham Hirsch	President	Executive Committee	
Donald A. Walker	President-Elect	Y. S. Brenner	'88
Ingrid Rima	Vice-President	Malcolm Rutherford	'88
A. W. Coats	Past President	Donald E. Moggridge	'89
Mark Perlman	Past President	Bruce Caldwell	'89
Hans E. Jensen	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1985-86		
A. W. Coats	President	Executive Committee	
Abraham Hirsch	President-Elect	Todd Lowery	'86
Neil de Marchi	Vice-President	Abraham Hirsch	'86
John K. Whitaker	Past President	Y. S. Brenner	'88
Mark Perlman	Past President	Malcolm Rutherford	'88
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer	•	
	1984-1985		
Mark Perlman	President	Executive Committee	
A. W. Coats	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	' 86
John Henderson	Vice President	Todd Lowry	'86
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	`85
John K. Whitaker	Past President		
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		
	1983-1984		
John K. Whitaker	President	Executive Committee	
Mark Perlman	President-Elect	Abraham Hirsch	'86
Samuel Hollander	Vice-President	Todd Lowry	. 86
Warren Samuels	Past President	A. W. Coats	' 85
Martin Bronfenbrenner	Past President	William O. Thweatt	'85
Laurence S. Moss	Secretary-Treasurer		

All Communications regarding material for possible inclusion in the HES should be addressed to:

William O. Thweatt, Editor

HES Bulletin

Box 206-B, Vanderbilt University

Nashville, TN 37235

All submissions should be typed and double-spaced.

Requests for institutional subscriptions, membership information as well as notices of address changes should be addressed to:

Hans E. Jensen, Secretary-Treasurer

Department of Economics

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville College of Business Administration

511 Stokely Management Center

 $\frac{Knoxville,\ Tennessee\ 37996-0550}{https://doi.org/10.1017/S104277160000123X}\ Published\ online\ by\ Cambridge\ University\ Press$

CONTENTS

From the Editori
"Economics, History and HOPE," Presidential Address to HES, June, 1986 by A.W. (Bob) Coats
11E3, Julie, 1960 by A.W. (Bob) Coats
Contributed Papers:
"A Great National Calamity": Ricardo's Obituary in the
Morning Chronicle" by Geoffrey Gilbert21 - 26
"Adam Smith on Balanced Budget Government Spending"
by Michael J. Gotzeit27 - 32
"Poor Richard' on Money: Benjamin Franklin in
Monetary Theory" by William F. Hixson
"The Warburton Collection at George Mason"
by James A. Dorn41 - 48
"On the Origin of 'Diseconomics'" by K. G. Wilson49 - 50
"Is Mandeville Useful Today?" A Comment by David Levy.51 - 53
"Royall Brandis on Marx's 'Corollary'" by John F. Henry,
with a "Reply" by Royall Brandis54 - 56
"Veblen, Leibenstein and McCormick"
by Malcolm Rutherford57 - 59
Klaus Hennings 1937 - 1986
Preliminary Program HES Annual Meeting, Boston, Massachusetts,
June 20-22, 1987
Announcements and Notices