New 2010-11 APSA Officers Elected

arole Pateman, distinguished professor of political science at the University of California, Los Angeles, and honorary professor in the School of European Studies at Cardiff University (U.K.), became the association's 107th president on September 5 at the close of the APSA Annual Meeting. Henry Brady of the University of California, Berkeley, APSA's outgoing president, symbolically passed

the gavel to Brady at the association's General Membership Meeting on September 4. Joining Pateman in guiding the association are four new officers. Eight new members of the council will be elected in an all-member election during the month of October. Details on the results of the election will be available on the Web and in the January issue of PS.

Pateman's research interests are broad but lie particularly in democratic theory and early modern and modern political theory, especially theories of original contracts and contemporary contract theory, all of which she has for many years approached with a feminist eye. From 1991 to 1994, she served as the first woman president of the International Political Science Association. She was a member of the APSA Council during the period of 1985 to 1987. She currently serves as a member of the International Advisory Board of the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study in the Social Sciences. She continues to be a member of the editorial boards of a number of journals, including the British Journal of Political Science and the APSR, and is an associate editor of the Journal of Political Philosophy. She is also the series editor of the Ethikon Series in Comparative Ethics.

Assuming the position of president-elect is G. Bingham Powell, Jr., the Marie C. and Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Political Science at the University of Rochester, where he is a former department chair and direc-



Outgoing president Henry Brady passes the gavel to incoming president Carole Pateman

tor of graduate studies. He has Ph.D. and MA degrees in political science from Stanford University. Powell's scholarly work has been in the field of comparative politics. His book Contemporary Democracies: Participation, Stability and Violence (Harvard University Press, 1982) won the APSA's Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award. His most recent articles focus on explaining ideological congruence between citizens and their representatives.

Powell served as the editor of the American Political Science Review from 1991 to 1995, and as vice-president and organizer of panels for sections on Comparative Political Behavior and Teaching Political Science at the APSA Annual Meetings. He is a former Guggenheim Fellow, and in 1991, he was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Other 2010–11 officers include:

- Vice-Presidents: Larry M. Bartels, Princeton University; Luis Ricardo Fraga, University of Washington; and Nancy L. Rosenblum, Harvard University
- Secretary: Susan Peterson, College of William and Mary

Council Election Underway

During the annual General Membership Meeting on September 4, 2010, APSA Council Committee on Elections chair, Julie Novkov, certified challenges to the slate of nominees for seats on the APSA Council. An all-member electronic election is being held to determine the eight Council members who will serve on the 2010-12 Council, in addition to the officers who were declared elected without contest. The election began on October 1 and ends on October 30, 2010.

Notification to participate in the election was sent by postcard and e-mail on October 1 to all current APSA members as of September 24,

2010. E-mail reminders will be sent throughout the election period.

Candidates for the 2010 Council election are:

- Jeffrey M. Berry, Tufts University
- Marla Brettschneider, University of New Hampshire
- Michael Desch, University of Notre Dame
- Christopher F. Gelpi, Duke University
- Kerstin Hamann, University of Central Florida
- Ange-Marie Hancock, University of Southern California
- Fredrick C. Harris, Columbia Univer-
- Simon Hix, London School of Economics
- Mala Htun, New School for Research
- Anne Norton, University of Pennsyl-
- Laura Katz Olson, Lehigh University
- David Pion-Berlin, University of California, Riverside
- Sanford Schram, Bryn Mawr College
- Etel L. Solingen, University of California, Irvine
- Dara Z. Strolovitch, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- Dvora Yanow, Vrije Universiteit

For more on the APSA Council election, please visit http://www.apsanet.org/ section_20766.cfm.