## Award of the Henry Dunant Medal

During the meeting of the Council of Delegates in Geneva, on 3 October 1979, the Henry Dunant Medal was awarded to:

Mr. G. Aitken of the Canadian Red Cross,

Mrs. L. Barry, of the Irish Red Cross.

Sir G. Newman-Morris, of the Australian Red Cross,

Mrs. M. A. van Overeem-Ziegenhardt, of the Netherlands Red Cross.

The Medal was also awarded posthumously to:

Mr. Louis Gaulis, ICRC delegate, killed in Lebanon in 1978;

Mr. Alain Biéri, ICRC delegate,

Mr. André Tièche, ICRC delegate,

Mr. Charles Chatora, local employee of the ICRC,

all three of whom were killed in Rhodesia-Zimbabwe in 1978;

Mr. Marvin Flores Salazar,

Mr. José Estrada Granizo,

first-aiders of the Nicaraguan Red Cross.

A special tribute was paid to the Nicaraguan National Society which, in the course of the recent events in that country, mourned the loss of seventeen of its members, most of them voluntary first-aiders.

The Henry Dunant Medal was instituted by the Twentieth International Red Cross Conference in Vienna in 1965. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service and dedication to the Red Cross cause by members irrespective of their position in the movement. The award is made every two years, in principle to a maximum of five persons.

The first presentation of the Henry Dunant Medal was in 1969, during the Twenty-first International Red Cross Conference at Istanbul. In all, twenty-eight medals have been awarded, ten of them posthumously.