## New APSA Council Members Elected

ight new members of the APSA Council were elected this fall. The new council members are Jeffrey M. Berry, Tufts University; Michael C. Desch, University of Notre Dame; Christoper F. Gelpi, Duke University; Simon Hix, London School of Economics; Mala N. Htun, the New School for Social Research; Anne Norton, University of Pennsylvania; Laura Katz Olson, Lehigh University; and Dara Z. Strolovitch, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.



Jeffrey M. Berry is the John Richard Skuse Professor of Political Science at Tufts University. Berry's research has focused on interest groups, citizen advocacy, urban politics,

and nonprofits. His current work includes a study of environmental advocacy and sustainability in 50 large American cities and a study of talk radio, cable TV, blogs, and ideological citizen groups. Berry's service to APSA includes membership on the Professional Ethics and Academic Freedom Committee and the Civic Education and Engagement Committee (which wrote *Democracy at Risk*). He also served as president of the Political Organizations and Parties section.



Michael C. Desch is a scholar of international relations and security studies at the University of Notre Dame, where he is chair of the department of political science and a fellow

of the Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies. In APSA, Desch has served on the Annual Meeting Committee, chaired the International Security section, and currently chairs the Foreign Policy section. He has served as chief editor of the journal *Security Studies* and as a member of the editorial boards of *International Security, Perspectives on Politics*, and the *International Studies Quarterly*. **Christopher F. Gelpi** is a professor of political science at Duke University. His primary research interests are the sources of international militarized conflict, strategies for



sources of public attitudes toward foreign policy issues. Gelpi is currently engaged in research on American public opinion and foreign policy, as

international conflict

resolution, and the

well as on statistical models for forecasting military conflict and transnational terrorist violence.

Simon Hix is a professor of European and comparative politics at the London School of Economics and Political Science. Hix's

research has focused on voting in parliaments, democratic institutions, and E.U. politics. He has won two APSA prizes: the Longley Prize for the best article on representation and elector-



al systems in 2005, and the Fenno Prize for the best book on legislative politics in 2008. In 2004, he won a Distinguished Scholar Award from the U.S.–U.K. Fulbright Commission, and in 2000, he won the Bernard Crick Prize for outstanding teaching from the British Political Studies Association.

Mala Htun is an associate professor of political science at the New School for Social Research and Eugene Lang College. Htun's research has focused on when and why states grant liberal rights and otherwise promote the interests of historically exclud-



ed groups, including women and ethnic and racial minorities. She teaches courses on comparative politics, gender and politics, and Latin American politics. Htun won the Heinz Eulau award from APSA in 2005,

and she is president-elect of the Women and Politics Research section.

Anne Norton has taught and published in political theory, American politics, and comparative politics. She has taught at both public and private institutions. She was a Fellow at the Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women, and has since taught at the University of Chicago, the University of Notre Dame, Princeton University, the University of Texas at Austin, and, since 1993, the University of Pennsylvania.

Laura Katz Olson is a professor of political science at Lehigh University since 1974 and served as chair of the department from 2003 to 2007. Olson has also been appointed to a number of APSA committees, including the Committee on Departmental Services, chaired the Victoria Schuck Award Committee and the Alice Paul Award Committee for the Women's Caucus, and will orga-

nize the New Political Science (NPS) section program panels for next year. In 2009, she received the Charles A. McCoy Career Achievement Award from the NPS. Olson is a scholar in



the field of aging, health care, and women's studies, addressing such topics as pensions, Social Security, problems of older women, Medicaid, and long-term care.

Dara Z. Strolovitch is an associate professor of political science at the University of Minnesota. Her teaching and research foci are interest groups and social movements; representation; and the intersecting politics of race, class, gender, and sexuality in



the United States. Her current research examines the political construction and effects of crisis. Dara has served as program co-chair for APSA's Race and Ethnic Politics section in 2010, as

chair of the MPSA's Committee on Nominations in 2010, and on the APSA's LGBT Status Committee. Total voter turnout for the election was 4,309, or 32.7% of all eligible voters. In the past, the association has had 32.0%, 30.3%, 30.4%, and 30.8% voter turnouts for Council elections. Jodi Dean, Hobart and William Smith College; Julie L. Novkov, SUNY, Albany (chair); and S. Laurel Weldon, Purdue University, made up the elections committee that oversaw the election and certified the results. Michael Marriott served as the election manager. The vote was conducted by Vote-now.com under contract to APSA. Detailed results can be found at http://www. apsanet.org/content\_72124.cfm.

Under APSA election rules, the Nomi-

nating Committee proposes one name per open seat, and additional nominations that are sponsored by at least 10 members may be made from the membership. The new council members assume office immediately.

These individuals will join current Council members and those members elected at the All-Member Business Meeting held during the 2010 Annual Meeting: president-elect, G. Bingham Powell, Jr., University of Rochester; vice presidents, Larry M. Bartels, Princeton University, Luis Ricardo Fraga, University of Washington, and Nancy L. Rosenblum, Harvard University; and secretary, Susan Peterson, College of William and Mary. Outgoing Council members are Jonathan Benjamin-Alvarado, University of Nebraska, Omaha; Jodi Dean, Hobart & William Smith Colleges; Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania; Rose McDermott, Brown University; Maria Victoria Murillo, Columbia University; Mark A. Peterson, University of California, Los Angeles; Sherri L. Wallace, University of Louisville; and Franke Wilmer, Montana State University, Bozeman.

For more information about the current Council and the members' complete biographies, visit http://www.apsanet.org/content\_1877.cfm.

## Continuing Council Members, 2009–11



Christina Beltrán Haverford College



Thomas E. Mann Brookings Institution



Yun-han Chu Academia Sinica/National Taiwan University



Joseph P. McCormick III Pennsylvania State University, York



Mark A. Graber University of Maryland



Julie Novkov State University of New York, Albany



Evelyne Huber University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill



S. Laurel Weldon *Purdue University*