Fairbanks. Alaska. The unit, which is under the command of Colonel Jack Bollerud, U.S.A.F., has the task of investigating medical and psychological problems affecting the health and efficiency of airmen in arctic regions, and of testing cold-weather clothing and survival equipment.

The Arctic Aeromedical Laboratory is organized in three divisions: administration, research and supply. The research division is subdivided into departments dealing with biochemistry, biology, and physiology. There is also a field testing unit. A fully equipped mobile laboratory provides facilities for tests anywhere along the Alaskan road network. In addition, a C-47 aircraft is available for special exercises. The staff of the laboratory consists of six officers, six civilians, and thirty airmen.

Service material for field testing is sent to the laboratory from the Aeromedical Laboratory at Wright-Paterson Air Force Base, Dayton, Ohio, where arctic clothing and survival equipment is designed.

The laboratory's research programme is primarily concerned with problems of human physiology and psychology peculiar to the polar regions, and is carried out either by members of the staff of the laboratory or by non-service organizations working under contract. In both cases the necessary field work is done by the laboratory's field testing unit. Conditions in which these tests have been made range from extremes of wet cold with high winds to dry cold with temperatures as low as -60° F. The field testing unit is often supplied from the air, and the laboratory's work is frequently co-ordinated with operations carried out by No. 10 Air Search and Rescue Squadron¹ and No. 375 Reconnaissance Squadron (V.L.R.) Weather.²

THE REINDEER COUNCIL OF THE UNITED KINGDOM

[Summarized from The Reindeer Council of the United Kingdom. First Annual Report, 1949-50, and information supplied by Dr E. J. Lindgren.]

On 2 June 1949 a number of arctic experts, travellers, persons interested in Highland development, and others met in London to inaugurate "The Reindeer Council of the United Kingdom". The members of the Council are Sir F. Whyte (Chairman), Dr E. J. Lindgren (Honorary Secretary), D. M. Carmichael (Honorary Treasurer), M. Utsi (Technical Adviser), Mrs J. K. Smith (Assistant Secretary), W. Brotherston, G. Bushnell, L. C. G. Clarke, N. A. C. Croft, D. Dixon, W. B. Fagg, Sir G. Greene, Miss A. Hicks, Miss I. W. Hutchison, H. Killas, Miss H. G. Liddell, F. A. G. Medd, E. Ormiston, T. T. Paterson, Sir M. Peto, Q. T. P. M. Riley and T. E. Utley.

The object of the Council is "to encourage experiments in reindeer-breeding in suitable areas in Scotland and/or overseas, and to engage in any appropriate activity ancillary thereto". Accordingly it has been decided to take advantage of an anonymous offer of twenty-five first-class breeding and draught reindeer from northern Scandinavia, to be transported to the British Isles and cared

¹ See the Polar Record, Vol. 6, No. 41, 1951, p. 115-16.

² See the *Polar Record*, Vol. 6, No. 42, 1951, p. 268.

for by trained herders for a minimum period of three years, without cost to the United Kingdom.

After prolonged negotiations the Scottish Home Department gave permission for the Council early in 1951 to import the herd into Scotland, subject to certain conditions specified by the Nature Conservancy of the United Kingdom. The Council hope that a pasture ground which meets official requirements will shortly be made available.

ALASKAN SCIENCE CONFERENCE, 1950

[Summarized from "Proceedings of the Alaskan Science Conference of the National Academy of Sciences National Research Council, Washington, November 9-11, 1950." Bulletin of the National Research Council, No. 122, 1951.]

The Alaskan Science Conference, with some 400 participants, was held in Washington from 9 to 11 November 1950 under the auspices of the National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences. The objectives were to stimulate a wider interest in Alaskan problems, and to discuss ways and means of encouraging closer co-operation among research workers in order to avoid unnecessary duplication of future effort.

The Conference was organized into three main groups, each subdivided into sections under the chairmanship of an expert:

. Biological sciences

Agriculture and forestry: P. V. Cardon Botany: William C. Steere Public health and medicine: C. Earl Albrecht Zoology: Albert M. Day and Remington Kellogg Physiology: John Field

2. Physical sciences

Geology and geography: John C. Reed and Walter A. Wood Geophysics: Henry R. Joesting Meteorology: Athelstan F. Spilhaus Oceanography: Roger Revelle

3. Social sciences

Anthropology: James L. Giddings and Henry B. Collins

At the opening session on 9 November, introductory speeches were made by Ernest Gruening (Governor of Alaska), Douglas M. Whitaker (Chairman, U.S. National Research Council), John C. Reed (U.S. Geological Survey), Dr C. Earl Albrecht (Territorial Commissioner of Health), George R. Phillips (U.S. Department of Agriculture), Dale E. Doty (U.S. Department of the Interior), Thomas W. S. Davis (U.S. Department of Commerce), F. H. Richardson (U.S. Department of Defense), Rear-Admiral A. C. Richmond (U.S. Coast Guard), Oscar R. Ewing (Federal Security Administrator), Alexander Wetmore (Smithsonian Institution), and A. L. Washburn (Arctic Institute of North America).

The various sections held meetings on 9 and 10 November and each section reviewed past research in its particular field and the most obvious tasks for