Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside The Empire of the Ptolemies

The Empire of the Ptolemies


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Classics

  • Date Published: November 2014
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108078658

£ 34.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • The classical scholar J. P. Mahaffy (1839–1919) is known equally for his work on Greek texts and Egyptian papyri (his edition of The Flinders Petrie Papyri is reissued in the Cambridge Library Collection). This illustrated work of 1895 is a sort of sequel to his Alexander's Empire of 1887 (also reissued in this series), in which he focuses specifically on the dynasty of the Ptolemies, rulers of Egypt, but also, as he points out, of wider territories and subject kingdoms. The study of the successor states of Alexander was in its infancy at this period, and Mahaffy regards this work as a pioneering discussion of various problems raised by the limited literary record, hoping this will stimulate further research, in the welcome context of an increasing number of archaeological discoveries relevant to this late period in the long history of ancient Egypt.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2014
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108078658
    • length: 564 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 140 x 32 mm
    • weight: 0.71kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Introduction
    2. Ptolemy I, satrap
    3. Ptolemy I (Soter), king
    4. Ptolemy II (Philadelphus), king
    5. Ptolemy II (cont.)
    6. Ptolemy III (Euergetes), king
    7. Ptolemy IV (Philopator)
    8. Ptolemy V (Epiphanes)
    9. Ptolemy VI (Eupator), Ptolemy VII (Philometor), Ptolemy VIII (Philopator Neos)
    10. Ptolemy IX (Euergetes II)
    11. Cleopatra III and her sons
    12. Berenike III and Ptolemy XIII, Ptolemy XIII
    13. Cleopatra VI, her brothers and her son Caesarion
    Additional notes and illustrations

  • Author

    John Pentland Mahaffy

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.