Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Archimedes Opera Omnia

Archimedes Opera Omnia
3 Volume Set


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Classics

  • Date Published: April 2013
  • availability: Temporarily unavailable - available from TBC
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108062589

£ 103.00
Multiple copy pack

Temporarily unavailable - available from TBC
Notify me when available Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Published in 1880–1, this three-volume edition of the extant works of the Greek mathematician Archimedes of Syracuse (c.287–c.212 BCE) was edited by the Danish philologist and historian Johan Ludvig Heiberg (1854–1928), whose Quaestiones Archimedeae (1879) is also reissued in this series. He compiled this edition from a Florentine codex, which he compared with other extant sources. Volume 1 contains On the Sphere and the Cylinder (in two books), On the Measurement of a Circle and On Conoids and Spheroids. Volume 2 contains On Spirals, On the Equilibrium of Planes, The Sand Reckoner, The Quadrature of the Parabola, On Floating Bodies, the Liber Assumptorum (now thought to be apocryphal), the cattle problem and fragments. Volume 3 contains the editor's own Latin prolegomena, the commentaries on Archimedes by Eutocius of Ascalon (c.480–c.540) and indexes. The texts are given in Greek with parallel Latin translation, notes and introductory material.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2013
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108062589
    • length: 1620 pages
    • dimensions: 216 x 139 x 93 mm
    • weight: 2.093kg
    • availability: Temporarily unavailable - available from TBC
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1: Praefatio
    De sphaera et cylindro libri 2
    Dimensio circuli
    De conoidibus et sphaeroidibus. Volume 2: Praefatio
    De lineis spiralibus
    De planorum aequilibriis libri 2
    Quadratura parabolae
    De iis, quae in humido vehuntur, libri 2
    Problema bovinum
    Fragmenta. Volume 3: Praefatio
    Eutochii Ascalonitae commentaria in Archimedem.

  • Author



    Johan Ludvig Heiberg

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.