Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Background to Modern Science

Background to Modern Science
Ten Lectures at Cambridge Arranged by the History of Science Committee


Francis M. Cornford, William C. Dampier, Lord Rutherford, J. A. Ratcliffe, W. L. Bragg, F. W. Aston, Arthur Eddington, John A. Ryle, G. H. F. Nuttall, R. C. Punnett, J. B. S. Haldane
View all contributors
  • Date Published: April 2015
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781107495005

£ 21.99

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Originally published in 1938, this book contains the text of ten lectures arranged by the History of Science Committee at the University of Cambridge in 1936. Each speaker covered a different aspect of scientific endeavour, focussing mostly on advances made in the period between 1895 and 1935 in fields such as parasitology, radioactivity, astronomy and evolution theory. The lecturers include such scientific notables as Lord Rutherford, Professor George Nuttall and Sir William Dampier, chosen for the fact that they had 'made fundamental contributions to science' in the previous forty years. This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in the history of science.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2015
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781107495005
    • length: 256 pages
    • dimensions: 198 x 129 x 14 mm
    • weight: 0.25kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Greek natural philosophy and modern science Francis M. Cornford
    2. From Aristotle to Galileo William C. Dampier
    3. Forty years of physics Lord Rutherford (revised and prepared for press by J. A. Ratcliffe)
    4. Forty years of crystal physics W. L. Bragg
    5. Forty years of atomic theory F. W. Aston
    6. Forty years of astronomy Arthur Eddington
    7. Forty years of physiology and pathology John A. Ryle
    8. Forty years of parasitology and tropical medicine G. H. F. Nuttall
    9. Forty years of evolution theory R. C. Punnett
    10. Forty years of genetics J. B. S. Haldane.

  • Editors

    Joseph Needham

    Walter Pagel


    Francis M. Cornford, William C. Dampier, Lord Rutherford, J. A. Ratcliffe, W. L. Bragg, F. W. Aston, Arthur Eddington, John A. Ryle, G. H. F. Nuttall, R. C. Punnett, J. B. S. Haldane

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.