Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside A History of Egypt

A History of Egypt
6 Volume Set


Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Egyptology

  • Date Published: October 2013
  • availability: In stock
  • format: Multiple copy pack
  • isbn: 9781108067430

£ 174.00
Multiple copy pack

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Published in six volumes between 1894 and 1905, this collection served as a valuable reference work for students and scholars of Egyptology at a time when ongoing archaeological excavations were adding significantly to the understanding of one of the world's oldest civilisations. At the forefront of this research was Sir William Matthew Flinders Petrie (1853–1942), whose pioneering methods made Near Eastern archaeology a much more systematic and scientific discipline. Many of his other publications are also reissued in this series. Britain's first professor of Egyptology from 1892, Petrie was conscious of the fact that there was no textbook he could recommend to his students. The work of Weidemann was in German and out of date, so Petrie and his collaborators incorporated the latest theories and discoveries in this English-language resource. Volumes 1-3, written by Petrie, cover Egyptian history from its beginnings to the thirtieth dynasty. Volumes 3-6, by other authors, extend the coverage up to 1517 CE.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: October 2013
    • format: Multiple copy pack
    • isbn: 9781108067430
    • length: 2070 pages
    • dimensions: 310 x 240 x 245 mm
    • weight: 3.28kg
    • contains: 798 b/w illus. 2 maps
    • availability: In stock
  • Table of Contents

    Volume 1: Preface
    1. Prehistoric Egypt
    2. The first three dynasties
    3. Fourth dynasty
    4. Fifth dynasty
    5. Sixth dynasty
    6. Seventh to tenth dynasties
    7. Eleventh dynasty
    8. Twelfth dynasty
    9. Thirteenth and fourteenth dynasties
    10. The Hyksos
    11. Notes on chronology
    Index. Volume 2: Preface
    1. Seventeenth dynasty
    2. Eighteenth dynasty
    3. Aahmes
    4. Amenhotep I
    5. Tahutimes I
    6. Tahutimes II
    7. Hatshepsut
    8. Tahutimes III
    9. Amenhotep II
    10. Tahutimes IV
    11. Amenhotep III
    12. Amenhotep IV
    13. Ra-Smenkh-Ka
    14. Tut-Ankh-Amen
    15. Ay
    16. Horemheb
    17. The decline of Egypt in Syria
    18. The geography of the Syrian campaigns
    19. Relationships of the XVIIth dynasty
    20. The mummies of Deir el Bahri
    Additional notes
    Index. Volume 3: Preface
    1. The nineteenth dynasty
    2. The twentieth dynasty
    3. The twenty-first dynasty
    4. The twenty-second dynasty
    5. The twenty-third dynasty
    6. The Ethiopian dominion
    7. The Saite dominion
    8. The Persian dominion
    9. The twenty-ninth dynasty
    10. The thirtieth dynasty
    Index. Volume 4: Preface
    1. Authorities
    2. Financial devices of Cleomenes
    3. Accession of Ptolemy II
    4. Accession of Ptolemy III
    5. Accession of Ptolemy IV
    6. Accession of Ptolemy V
    7. Regency of Cleopatra I
    8. Cleopatra II and her son Ptolemy VIII
    9. Apion of Cyrene
    10. Accession of Cleopatra VII and Ptolemy XIV
    Index. Volume 5: Preface
    1. The organisation of Egypt under the Romans
    2. The first century of Roman rule in Egypt
    3. A century of prosperity
    4. The decay of the provincial system
    5. The struggle between the state and the church
    6. Establishment of the supremacy of the Christian church
    7. Union of the temporal and religious power
    8. The revenues of taxation of Egypt
    9. Religious institutions
    10. Life in the towns and villages of Egypt
    Index. Volume 6: Preface
    1. The Arab conquest
    2. A province of the caliphate
    3. Tulun and Ikkshid
    4. The Shia revolution
    5. The Fatimid caliphs
    6. The attack from the east
    7. Saladin
    8. Saladin's successors
    9. The first Mamluks
    10. The house of Kalaun
    11. The Circassian Mamluks

  • Authors

    William Matthew Flinders Petrie

    John Pentland Mahaffy

    Joseph Grafton Milne

    Stanley Lane-Poole

Related Books

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.