Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

Freedom's Mirror scoops three 2015 American Historical Association prizes

news story

The American Historical Association has announced the winners of its 2015 prizes, and Freedom's Mirror: Cuba and Haiti in the Age of Revolution by Ada Ferrer is the winner of three coveted awards:

Winner, 2015 Friedrich Katz Prize, American Historical Association

Winner, 2015 Wesley-Logan Prize, American Historical Association

Winner, 2015 James A. Rawley Prize, American Historical Association

The awards will take place at the 130th annual meeting in Atlanta, January 7–10, 2016. The ceremony will be held on Thursday, January 7 in the Hilton Atlanta’s Grand Ballroom D at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting’s welcome reception.

The AHA offers annual prizes honoring exceptional books, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, public history, and other historical projects. Since 1896 the Association has conferred over a thousand awards. This year’s finalists were selected from a field of almost 1,500 entries by nearly 100 dedicated prize committee members. The names, publications, and projects of those who received these awards are a catalogue of the best work produced in the historical discipline.

Have your say


Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.