Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist

AHA awards six Press titles

The American Historical Association has named six Press titles as 2019 prize winners, up from two in 2018 and more than any other publisher this year.

This year’s finalists were selected from a field of over 1,400 entries by nearly 150 dedicated prize committee members. 

Winners include:

The Nature of Disaster in China: The 1931 Yangzi River Flood by Chris Courtney was awarded the John K. Fairbanks Prize, offered for an outstanding book in East Asian history since 1800.

The Morris D. Forkosch Prize in the field of British, British imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485 was given to Robert Saunders for Yes to Europe! The 1975 Referendum and Seventies Britain.

Assembling the Tropics: Science and Medicine in Portugal’s Empire, 1450-1700 by Hugh Cagle was named the winner of the Leo Gershoy Award in the fields of 17th- and 18th-century western European history.

Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America by Martha S. Jones was awarded the Littleton-Griswold Prize in US law and society.

The John F. Richards Prize for South Asian history went to Monsoon Islam: Trade and Faith on the Medieval Malabar Coast by Sebastian R. Prange.

Finally, the Wesley-Logan Prize in African diaspora history was given to Yuko Miki for Frontiers of Citizenship: A Black and Indigenous History of Postcolonial Brazil.

Have your say


Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.