Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside A History of the Mathematical Theories of Attraction and the Figure of the Earth

A History of the Mathematical Theories of Attraction and the Figure of the Earth
From the Time of Newton to that of Laplace

Volume 1

Part of Cambridge Library Collection - Mathematics

  • Date Published: April 2015
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9781108084574


Add to wishlist

Looking for an inspection copy?

This title is not currently available on inspection

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Newton's Principia paints a picture of the earth as a spinning, gravitating ball. However, the earth is not completely rigid and the interplay of forces will modify its shape in subtle ways. Newton predicted a flattening at the poles, yet others disagreed. Plenty of books have described the expeditions which sought to measure the shape of the earth, but very little has appeared on the mathematics of a problem which remains of enduring interest even in an age of satellites. Published in 1874, this two-volume work by Isaac Todhunter (1820–84), perhaps the greatest Victorian historian of mathematics, takes the mathematical story from Newton, through the expeditions which settled the matter in Newton's favour, to the investigations of Laplace which opened a new era in mathematical physics. Volume 1 traces developments from Newton up to 1780, including coverage of the work of Maupertuis, Clairaut and d'Alembert.

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: April 2015
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9781108084574
    • length: 518 pages
    • dimensions: 217 x 140 x 32 mm
    • weight: 0.7kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. Newton
    2. Huygens
    3. Miscellaneous investigations up to the year 1720
    4. Maupertuis
    5. Stirling
    6. Clairaut
    7. Arc of the meridian measured in Lapland
    8. Miscellaneous investigations between the years 1721 and 1740
    9. Maclaurin
    10. Thomas Simpson
    11. Clairaut
    12. Arc of the meridian measured in Peru
    13. D'Alembert
    14. Boscovich and Stay
    15. Miscellaneous investigations between the years 1741 and 1760
    16. D'Alembert
    17. Frisi
    18. Miscellaneous investigations between the years 1761 and 1780.

  • Author

    Isaac Todhunter

Related Books

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×
warning icon

Turn stock notifications on?

You must be signed in to your Cambridge account to turn product stock notifications on or off.

Sign in Create a Cambridge account arrow icon

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.